North Carolina Museum of Art Immortalizes My Husband and I

And no…it’s not a bronze statue or anything.  It’s definitely not of significant financial value either.  But, it is of value to those who contributed.  I was one of them.

In December of 2006, the North Carolina Museum of Art broke ground to begin the construction of a brand new exhibit wing that would house the permanent collection.  When the museum closed in the fall of 2009 for part of that renovation staff kept in touch with its visitors through the use of social media channels alongside traditional media sources.

One very cool way to encourage North Carolina residents to take part in the grand re-opening of the North Carolina Museum of Art included a project that involved NC residents submitting images of their favorite North Carolina faces & places.  I decided I would submit one of my favorite pictures taken of my husband and I on the beach in Nags Head during our 40th Birthday vacation last October.  Our picture was immortalized in the cube below in the last column to the right, second picture from the top.

NCMAOpenCube

The giant cube of contributed images by NC residents (courtesy of Squishyray on Flickr)

How cool!  Seriously.  I love art.  I love everything about the process.  While I don’t have that kind of artistic bone in my body, I do appreciate those that do!  So, it was a no-brainer to contribute to this project in support of one of the best museums in the country.

The North Carolina Museum of Art is located just west of downtown Raleigh on Blue Ridge Road.  Not only does it contain exhibit halls but it also has a performance center (seasonal) and my favorite part, the outdoor Museum Park.  Reminds me very much of DeCordova Museum and Sculpture Park in Lincoln, Massachusetts (another one of my favorite art museums).

From what I understand this beautiful cube has been taken down in pieces currently on display at the Department of Cultural Resources in Raleigh.  I’ll have to go check it out there & see if I can find my piece.

Thank you, North Carolina Museum of Art!  I feel privileged.  🙂

Have you ever been immortalized in a piece of art?  I would love to hear your story too. I’ll bet you felt/feel the same way I did.

Image courtesy of Squishyray on Flickr – http://www.flickr.com/photos/squishy/4549005824/in/photostream/

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

  • July 2010
    M T W T F S S
     1234
    567891011
    12131415161718
    19202122232425
    262728293031  
  • My Business Card

    Lisa on Cardly