Couch to 5K – Encouragement Needed and Appreciated!

C25K Free App Screen Capture Lisa Sullivan

Anyone who knows me knows I LOATHE exercise (see? I captialized, bolded, and italicized that word. THAT’s how much I hate it.). The thing is I’m also well aware that my body is getting older. I can no longer comfortably walk even four flights of stairs without huffin’ & puffin’. I had no idea I was The Big Bad Wolf!

So…I have decided life after 40 means its time to do something.

Just a few weeks ago, I started a daily routine of 20 minutes of SOMEthing. Typically, it’s 50 sit ups, 20 push ups, 20 leg lifts (each leg), 25 squats, 25 jumping jacks and whatever else I can fit into the 20 minutes. Well… now I’m challenging myself and I’m starting this –

C25K Free App Screen Capture Lisa Sullivan

Screen Capture taken from C25KFree.com.

It’s 8 weeks, 3 days a week in which the workouts require more and more running and less walking. I’ll finish just in time for the fun and wild Color Run in Raleigh, September 28th, which I am considering joining a team for. But, my ultimate goal is to participate in the Run for Hope on October 13th in time for my 44th Birthday (last year I Walked for Hope; this year I want to run it). But, more importantly, it’ll lead me to being a healthier me!

And I’m not a runner either. Not a fan of just running for the sake of running. I’m more of a dancer. Let me take a dance class any day. That’s FUN and a ton of exercise too!

Lisa Sullivan C25KFree

Me after completing Week 1, Day 1 of the C25KFree program!

So…beginning last night the “Couch to 5K” plan commenced. I huffed & puffed, but I completed the entire thing. Have to admit, I’m pretty proud of myself for that. In my world, that’s an accomplishment!

I will make progress, though slow going. BUT, I will become more fit and healthy. THAT’s what’s going to make this all worth it.

And I will blog about my progress here. Follow it under the Category “Health” and the Hashtag #LisaGetsHealthy all over the place – my Twitter feed, Facebook Page, Google+ and I might even “YouTube” it as well!

Join me too!

If you’ve been waiting for inspiration to get off the couch and do something about your health, whether you decide to do a 5K or just 20 minutes of SOMEthing everyday, keep me posted. Shoot me an @reply on Twitter, Post on my Facebook Page or Google+ or leave a comment on any of my blog posts and YouTube videos. Together, we can inspire each other!

Stay tuned!

In the meantime, today’s an “off” day and I’ve got my 20-30 minutes of SOMEthing to get done. And….GO!

Leave a Reply

  • August 2013
    M T W T F S S
    « Jul   Sep »
     1234
    567891011
    12131415161718
    19202122232425
    262728293031  
  • My Business Card

    Lisa on Cardly
