Be Inspired to Be a Helper

Lisa Sullivan NHL Hurricanes Stormy

“When I was a young boy and I would see scary things on the news, my mother would always say to me, ‘Look for the helpers. You will always find people who are helping.” ~ Fred Rogers (aka Mr. Rogers to you and I)

This was the quote Jamie Hahn’s husband, Nation, read in his words to the attendees at her funeral earlier today. This is also the quote that was shared quite frequently the week of April 15th in the moments and days after the Boston Marathon bombings. This is how Jamie Hahn lived her life.

Now, I didn’t know Jamie personally. I barely know Nation. He and I run in many of the same social media circles here in the Triangle communicating often via Twitter and I have learned that he is a smart man, good people. This week I also learned that the reason he and Jamie worked so well together is that they are both GOOD people. And I believe it’s the light they shine together that drew me to spend time paying my respects to Nation at the sudden and tragic death of his beautiful wife, Jamie this week.

You see…good people tend to draw together. Whatever circles each may run in, inevitably their paths cross and inevitably they find mutual admiration and respect for each other because of that bond of goodness they share. As Nation said today – we are all connected. We may not all be family like mothers, brothers, aunts, uncles and cousins. It’s how good we are to each other that makes us connected.

Jamie’s legacy is that she was a helper. Nation told us that if she walked past an animal shelter, she’d want to adopt every animal in it (I knew we were kindred spirits, Jamie!). If she just met someone yesterday, she would’ve invited them to dinner today. If she believed in a cause, she did what she could to promote it and raise awareness and funds for it. She was a helper.

That’s what we need to be. If we all just take a look at ourselves with the gifts and talents we’ve been given and figure out how we can help others, that’s what we need to do – be a helper.

So, I thought in tribute to Jamie and to help us all become helpers, I would share some links to organizations that represent Jamie as well as a couple that matter to me…but I hope it won’t stop there. I hope you will click on these links to learn more about each one and then perhaps, if you’re a blogger or on your own Facebook Profile/Page, via your email database, whatever it may be – you’ll continue this idea and share your favorite links with those you know.

The Hope Center at Pullen Memorial Baptist Church

The SPCA of Wake County

Food Bank of Central and Eastern North Carolina

The Foundation of Hope

Relay For Life – Garner

The 1in9 Foundation

Let’s get a chain going! The way I see it if one person makes an effort to donate their time, talent, or financial means to a cause they learn about, then we’ve just become a “helper”.

I also encourage you to read more about Jamie here.

I’ll end with this –

In the same way, let your light shine before others, that they may see your good deeds and glorify your Father in heaven. (Mathew 5:16)

Let me tell you a little story about this quote. It’s one I hope I live my life by and earlier today before the funeral started, it’s the quote I referred to as I left a handwritten note on the back of the card given to attendees that would allow us to express our own sorrow and hope for Nation and his family. Later, as we listened to Pastor Nancy of Pullen Memorial Baptist Church read the Gospel message for today and say her words in memorium, it was also the quote she used. Chills.

May YOUR light shine before us as you find yourself a helper among your community.

The image above is of me and the Carolina Hurricanes Mascot Stormy on the day of my 43rd Birthday as I participated in the Walk For Hope.

Comments
4 Responses to “Be Inspired to Be a Helper”
  1. Lisa, your ability to rise to the occasion through grief and make a call to action is just what humanity needs. You are one of the true helpers.

Trackbacks
Check out what others are saying...
  1. […] was sitting with friend and colleague Lisa Sullivan, who also blogged about Jamie’s influence. Lisa and I struggled together during the service […]



Leave a Reply

