Finding Strength in God, Trying to Heal

Boy. It’s been a ROUGH couple of weeks in our country, and for both my former and current communities. There are days when a glimmer of hope shines through in a hero’s story. Then there are days when I feel like that glimmer has been squashed like a bug. Heck, a cockroach.

These last two weeks have been so trying for me personally and yet, I wasn’t personally affected by the events within either….at least not so much that an immediate family member or close friend was harmed in any way. Yet, for me, every event has been personal.

I grew up in Massachusetts. I lived in Boston for a period of time. Boston IS my home. That’s personal.

The anniversary of the Branch Davidian fire in Waco, Texas was upon us at the time of the West, Texas explosion. Yet, what made West personal was the fact that we spent time living in Texas while my husband worked for the largest golf course management company in the United States. Our former church in San Antonio on Sunday began collections for food donations for the organizations that would deliver them to the people of West. Again, personal.

And just when I thought I was on a path to healing after these two events, another one snuck right up and bit me in the behind. Only this time it was in my own back yard.

The unexplainable and tragic death of Jamie Hahn and the injuries to her husband, Nation, have ROCKED the Triangle community. Whether you knew Jamie or Nation because of the work they did for the Democratic Party or the causes they supported or the church they belong to or their online presence, you knew these two souls shared a very special light that now must shine brightly through Nation and the angel that is Jamie.

Three tragic events. Three reasons to be hurting. Three reasons to find healing. For me, that means turning my heart, soul, and mind (so that I can find direction and strength in) God. And it’s tough.

I will admit it. In many ways, I feel like it’s 9/11 all over again. I remember what that was like. Not wanting to work, wanting to contribute to the community (at that time it was to give blood), finding it hard to concentrate, etc. It’s all there.

But the only way I am able to cope and to heal is to take it to Him. All of it. Every ounce of pain. Every hurt. Every emotion. Every question. Everything. To Him.

I always look for messages from God when I’m hurting and these were a few I came across that apply to how I’m feeling and how I will heal:

Matt 11:28: “Come to me, all you who are weary and burdened, and I will give you rest.

Rom 8:28: And we know that in all things God works for the good of those who love him, who have been called according to his purpose.

Phil 4:13: I can do everything through him who gives me strength.

Phil 4:8: Finally, brothers, whatever is true, whatever is noble, whatever is right, whatever is pure, whatever is lovely, whatever is admirable—if anything is excellent or praiseworthy—think about such things.

Phil 4:7: And the peace of God, which transcends all understanding, will guard your hearts and your minds in Christ Jesus. ~ From Bible Gateway.com

My God is faithful and just. He continues to light my path. Even when the road seems bumpy (or down right impassible), it is through Him I gain direction and strength, and today comfort and peace.

I will heal as will my country and my community. We just need to take it to God and take it one….day…at…a…time.

If you are feeling like me, my prayer for you is that you be BLESSED with His strength, comfort, and peace in the days ahead.

One day at a time.

Comments
2 Responses to “Finding Strength in God, Trying to Heal”
  1. This is exactly how I’ve been feeling for the past couple of weeks. It’s been so hard to continue doing all of the day-to-day things knowing there are others out there who are hurting so bad. Thank you for the encouragement and for the reminder of His faithfulness.

    • You are very welcome…and are definitely not alone. Everywhere I’ve gone these last couple of weeks (conferences, meetings, events, even just to dinner) we’ve all had the same conversation about how sad we are and how much we wish we could help. Sometimes the best kind of help for others as well as for ourselves is to pray…and pray fervently. Pray for peace, comfort, hope, strength. Just pray.

      I am glad you found my words encouraging Stephanie. We pray together. 🙂

Leave a Reply

