Finding My Bliss in 2013 – Weekend Jaunt to Pawleys Island South Carolina

Historic Church Pawleys Island SC Lisa Sullivan Copyright 2013 All Rights Reserved

At the beginning of this year, I wrote about how I didn’t want to make a whole bunch of resolutions (that I knew I probably wouldn’t keep). Instead, I talked of “Finding My Bliss”, taking the time to do things that would make me blissfully happy, basically. Last weekend was one of those blissful moments as I made a short trip to Pawleys Island in South Carolina to visit with a long-time family friend.

I had never been to Pawleys Island, or to that part of the coast of South Carolina for that matter. Around here, many talk about Myrtle Beach. Still haven’t been there either. I understand it’s a “busier” beach community. I’m more of a “quaint with character” girl.  Anyway….

Pawleys Island Lisa Sullivan

Pawleys Island Beach on a rainy day.

Let me tell you – it rained. No. It POURED nearly the entire time I was there. But, that didn’t stop me from having a wonderful visit with Sandra and Andy. We enjoyed dinner at a Mexican restaurant just down the street from their condo on Friday night. Then, on Saturday, Sandra took me everywhere.

We ventured to the island of Pawleys Island itself (Pawleys Island is a town that includes an island of the same name) where we drove around looking at the beach houses, historic older part of the community, and took pictures in the rain…pouring rain…of the area, including one of us on the beach.

Pawleys Island Beach Lisa Sullivan

Family friend, Sandra and I standing in the pouring rain taking a quick picture to prove I was at the beach! 🙂

From there, we headed to the Hammock Shops meandering through some of the quaint shops filled with both local and national wares – art, jewelry, clothing, and more. We stopped at a garden shop where Cardinals, Robins, and Yellow Finch would stop at the bird feeders from time to time.

Yellow Finch Pawleys Island SC Copyright 2013 Lisa Sullivan All Rights Reserved

A Yellow Finch visiting the bird feeders at The Hammock Shops on Pawleys Island, SC. Image credit: Lisa Sullivan. Copyright 2013. All Rights Reserved.

Then it was on to Murrells Inlet where she showed me “restaurant row” along the waterfront with herons and seagulls and other creatures flying about amongst the marshland. We stopped at Drunken Jacks for an appetizer and cocktail to get away from the rain and look out over the water from a window-side table. Then, popped over to the Litchfield Beach community to actually step foot on the 60-miles of beach during a break in raindrops. Just beautiful!

Murrells Inlet SC Lisa Sullivan Copyright 2013 All Rights Reserved

Colorful benches on Murrells Inlet waterfront. Copyright 2013. Lisa Sullivan. All Rights Reserved.

Later, we hit up local watering hole, Quigley’s for dinner where Sandra and I both enjoyed their Jumbo Seared Scallops Salad (oh my gosh! Yummy!!) while her husband, Andy, had their Reuben sandwich. I also tried their own Nut Brown Ale. That too went down mighty fine.

Quigley's Pawleys Island SC Lisa Sullivan

The Quigley’s menu board of the day’s specials.

On Sunday, we had a delicious breakfast of homemade Pannukakku (Finnish pancakes), juice, and of course, coffee. I’m a Fin by decent so any time I get to enjoy Finnish food, I jump on it! Sandra offered to make it and I definitely did not decline. It was delicious! I headed home shortly thereafter.

We had a lovely visit. So glad I went!

I found my bliss. 🙂

Pawleys Island is just a short 3 hr. and 20 min. drive from Raleigh. Super easy to get to and definitely worth a return visit…in the sunshine next time!

 

Comments
4 Responses to “Finding My Bliss in 2013 – Weekend Jaunt to Pawleys Island South Carolina”
  1. I have never been there – sounds like a nice area.

Leave a Reply

  • March 2013
    M T W T F S S
    « Feb   Apr »
     123
    45678910
    11121314151617
    18192021222324
    25262728293031
  • My Business Card

    Lisa on Cardly
