What I Love About…The Triangle – The Food!

Haven’t done one of these posts in a while so I thought since I’ve enjoyed the edible creations of three of the Triangle’s restaurants recently I would tell you all about them…just so I can make your mouth water. Not really. But, if it does, all the better!

Surprise Folks – Raleigh, Durham, Chapel Hill and surrounding communities (also known as The Triangle) has some AH-MA-ZING food. Seriously. Between restaurants in Durham like German eatery Guglhupf and French restaurant Rue Cler to Clayton’s Italian fare Mulberry on Main there are so many great places to satisfy your palate. For this post, let me tell you all about Raleigh’s new Yard House location, the 2nd floor and rooftop bar at the recently renovated Raleigh Times, and new Garner pizza carry-out/delivery service – Chanellos.

Yard House

 

Yard House Raleigh Lisa Sullivan

Yard House Raleigh’s Tomato Bisque & Field Green Salad

Yard House is located at the base of the Captrust Tower in Raleigh’s North Hills area. It’s a beautifully decorated setting with “fire” places outside on the patio to warm up diners who choose to sit out there, large booths and good size tables inside with a HUGE bar. It’s creme de la creme is their beer selection with a multitude of choices. If you’re a beer lover, you’ll enjoy that for sure!

I had lunch with friends at Yard House recently. It was a cold day so I was in the mood for a good hot soup and salad combo. I ended up ordering the tomato bisque and a simple field green salad. PERFECT. The soup was absolutely delicious and the salad was truly green and completely fresh (what I mean by “green” is it didn’t have yucky iceberg lettuce – blech!). I enjoyed every bite!

Yard House is also known for their pizza and guacamole apparently so it looks like I’ll have to go back and check out each of those choices too. It’s a hardship!

Raleigh Times

Raleigh Times Rooftop Lisa Sullivan

Rooftop dining at Raleigh Times

Located in downtown Raleigh on Hargett Street in between Fayetteville and Wilmington Streets, it’s the site of the old Raleigh Times newspaper turned into a dining establishment, bar, and even coffee location. The beer selections here are also top notch, but the food is equally awesome.

As a vegetarian (sometimes pescatarian), I usually partake in either their Veggie burgers and any of their salads. I just remove the meat products in the salads that contain meat, except for the Asian Tuna Salad (I did say I was “sometimes Pescatarian”). Every dish is the right size (not too much; not too little) and always delicious!

Recently, the restaurant has gone through a renovation adding on a second floor for dining with it’s own bar AND rooftop seating overlooking downtown Raleigh. There are very few places downtown with outdoor seating so this is a nice addition.

Chanello’s

Chanello's Pizza Lisa Sullivan

Chanello’s Half meat (for the hubby) and half cheese (for me)

I am a picky pizza eater. I love my pizza. Growing up in the northeast and at one point living in Boston’s North End, there’s just something about GOOD pizza. Here in Raleigh, I enjoy Mellow Mushroom, Moonlight Pizza, and I have yet to try Lilly’s (I’ve heard theirs ROCKS.). But, in Garner, there isn’t much to choose from…until now.

Check out Chanello’s when you get a chance. It’s not an eat-in place. Go carry-out or even better, they deliver…and within a wide radius too. The sauce isn’t too sweet, the crust is perfectly baked every time. Of course, I can’t speak about the meat products they place on their pizzas, but I can say their cheese pizza was delicious. In fact, my mouth is watering as I think about it. Yummy!

So there you have it – three fantastic eateries in Raleigh/South Garner. Next time you get a hankering for a quick and delicious lunch, check out Yard House. For a beverage on the roof with a quick bite, head to Raleigh Times. Not in the mood for dining in? Order some carry-out from Chanello’s.

What are some of your favorite restaurants in the Triangle? Would love to hear about ’em. Leave a comment below, please.

Now, since my mouth is watering I better go rectify the situation. Order up!

Comments
2 Responses to “What I Love About…The Triangle – The Food!”
  1. Fiestejos in Clayton is awesome – love their guacamole! If you are with several people, order the big bowl of guacamole – they make it right at your table!
    The Clayton Bakery and Long Island Deli are also great places to pick up a yummy sandwich for lunch in Clayton.
    Can ya tell I like my local joints? πŸ˜‰

Leave a Reply

  • February 2013
    M T W T F S S
    « Jan   Mar »
     123
    45678910
    11121314151617
    18192021222324
    25262728  
  • My Business Card

    Lisa on Cardly
