Finding Your Bliss in the New Year

I used to make New Year’s resolutions. I’ve even set goals. Problem is I find that I break just about every one.

Eat right. Sure. Next week.

Exercise? Ugh. I know I need to. It’s just not my thing, but check back in a couple of months. Maybe.

Read more actual books. Well, I tend to read on vacation. Last two years have taught me that. So, to read more and make that a goal. Nah. Not right now.

See? None of this interests me. Creating measurable goals just doesn’t interest me. However, there is one goal I am very much willing to set. It’s not measurable by typical standards and I’m not making it so that I have to reach a particular number either. Nope. I have one idea in mind that I hope to achieve SEVERAL times in 2013 –

I plan to find my bliss in the New Year

Now, what does that mean exactly?

Image credit to my good friend Ashley Sue who caught me delightfully dancing away!

Well, if my bliss is to eat healthier, take up a dance class, read books, GREAT. If it’s to find a church home, donate to a chosen charity consistently, blog more, spend more time playing card games, purchase our first home, or simply take a bubble bath more often, indulge in chocolate treats just because, drink champagne on a non-holiday, etc. it’s my bliss.

Over the last few years I’ve given a lot of myself to others. Whether it be causes I support (and still very much find important), organizing events (which I also continue to support), or lending my advice on social media marketing (at no charge, mind you), as this New Year turned, I realized I don’t spend as much time on me. Maybe if I concentrate on that some more, the rest will follow? I will eat healthier. I will dance. I will find a church. I will give to a charity. I will take a bubble bath…and maybe with champagne and chocolate too. πŸ™‚

I think my biggest resolution or goal this year is simply….me. Be good to me. And because of who I am (those that have been reading this blog have some kind of clue here), I don’t find this selfish by any means. There’s an old saying I’ve heard over the last couple of years that keeps eating away at me –

“Take care of the people and the rest will follow.”

I’ve always believed that. I just never thought of “the people” as me. I need to take care of me. I need to find my bliss. THEN, everything else will follow.

And with that, I wish you all a New Year filled with as much of YOUR bliss as you can stand. πŸ™‚

Happy New Year!

Image of Lake Pennesseewassee, Norway ME copyright Lisa Sullivan. 2012. All Rights Reserved.

Image of me dancing courtesy of my beautiful friend Ashley Sue. Thank you!

Comments
2 Responses to “Finding Your Bliss in the New Year”
  1. Diane says:

    Beautifully said Lisa! You are right that if we don’t take care of ourselves we can’t be a good anything else in life.

    • Exactly. Make no mistake, I’ll get back to all the things I love to do (volunteering, organizing, etc.) but this year, it’s going to be about me. Now, let me go find my yoga pants. I have some You Can Dance 3 to jiggy to later. It’s not “exercise” and its exercise all at the same time. Gotta start somewhere!

Leave a Reply

  • My Business Card

    Lisa on Cardly
