Why Give Thanks – a Thanksgiving Retrospective

There are many people that say that Thanksgiving is their favorite holiday of the year. Could be the common feeling of “giving thanks” on this particular day, spending time with family, the food. (Let’s be honest, it may put us into a coma, but the food — Thanksgiving dinner — is a coveted experience each year. Is it not?)

Thanksgiving is actually not my favorite holiday. It’s ONE of my favorites, don’t get me wrong. I’m partial to Christmas and the whole Christmas season. That’s MY favorite. Still, because Thanksgiving does rank right up there, I wanted to take a moment to share what I’m thankful for each day (not just on Thanksgiving).

I have a God who loves me so much that all He wants for me is to follow His plan for my life, happiness, and lots of love and laughter. Honestly, it can’t get much better than that. Knowing that I am THAT loved, that’s a blessing. And He sent Jesus for me. Me. Can anything compare to that? I am blessed because I am loved. Sometimes that is unreal to me, but most of the time, I know it to be true and am very grateful for that. Very.

Yours Truly, our pooch Lucy, and my handsome husband, Mike on route back to NC from a Thanksgiving week with family in Florida. 2012.

My husband, our 21 year-old fur ball and our 6 year-old pooch – our family. Because God loves me so much, he sent my husband to be a significant part of my life. He’s my best friend, my everything and together with our four-legged furry friends, we have a house full of love. WHAT a blessing!

My family. As quirky as we are, we’re all still here on this earth and while we may be far away from each other, we’re never THAT far away that we can’t support and love one another.

My friends. I have some wonderful girl friends from the time I was in high school to those I cherish from the places we have lived. There’s something to be said for a few gal pals to share your joys, sorrows, and sometimes secrets with that only girls would understand. That’s a blessing!

I am healthy. At least as far as I know I am.

We have a roof over our heads, which means I am not cold nor do I wonder where I will sleep each night or bathe each day (a blessing to count for sure).

Delicious sweet potato casserole prepared by my Mother-In-Law. Thanksgiving 2012.

 

We have food on our table. I might be hungry come dinner time but I don’t “go” hungry. So many people in our own country go hungry. That’s one of the reasons I support our local food bank so much. I am blessed that I can eat…and eat what I want. Others don’t get that choice, or any if at all sometimes. I can’t even imagine.

We have two vehicles that run…and that’s about it. They get us from Point A to Point B and for one of which, Point A might be Raleigh, NC while Point B might be Orlando, Florida or Massachusetts, where the rest of our families live. Another blessing.

I have a good job. Heck, I have a job. With unemployment rates still high, I feel very blessed to be able to contribute my expertise for a company and in an industry that screams for it.

Vacation. The holidays get SO BUSY. I’ve decided to save some vacation time each year so that I can really enjoy them by being able to be with family and friends during this time without feeling so rushed. The holidays are nothing without family. I feel blessed that I can make that happen.

I am very fortunate to have the blessings that I have and I have each one because God has provided me with them. Sometimes we get so caught up in what we don’t have that we need to step outside of those thoughts and remember what we do have. Not everyone can count their blessings that high….you know?

So, while we have entered into the season that celebrates the birth of Jesus and even as commercial as it can get, I choose everyday to remember, reflect, and give thanks for what REALLY matters.

May God bless each one of you as the next four weeks go on. Don’t let a moment pass by when you can be thankful for what you have. Stop. Reflect. Remember. BE grateful…and share some of that gratitude too! Whether it be a prayer, a hug, a donation to your favorite charity, a random act of kindness, share the love. Be thankful.

Mike taking a bite out of the Thanksgiving turkey. Not really. 2012.

Happy Thanksgiving and Happy Holidays!

 

Leave a Reply

  • November 2012
    M T W T F S S
    « Oct   Dec »
     1234
    567891011
    12131415161718
    19202122232425
    2627282930  
  • My Business Card

    Lisa on Cardly
