Trying to Make Sense of the Senseless

Anybody else having trouble concentrating today?

I was fine this morning. I had something to distract me. I taught a class on (of all things) video marketing – how to effectively use video and YouTube to build your real estate business. All the while every major news channel was covering the tragedy in Colorado. I’m thankful I didn’t have a reason to check CNN or even NBC’s The Today Show where Barbara Corcoran is a regular contributor in the area of real estate buying and selling. I focused my efforts on examples of REALTORS® using video effectively and ineffectively. It was a great class.

And then it ended and I had to concentrate on “being social”. Blech. I didn’t want to “be social” today, to be quite honest. As the afternoon tore on, I found myself wanting to be with my husband and my family, wanting to hug them and be in the moment with them. Still, I had work to do. I pressed on.

Many would say, “Good for you! That’s not letting him win.” For me it’s not about letting  him win in so much as it is about processing my feelings and emotions. I think we humans just need to do that sometimes. Process and move on. I found myself pressing on first and processing later. Thus, the reason for this post.

I don’t get it. I don’t. I will never understand why weapons of that sort have to be available to the common man (or woman). While I get we have a right to bear arms, I don’t think our Forefathers meant for this purpose. In fact, I know they didn’t. But, do I believe a more stringent gun control law is needed. Honestly, I’m not sure it would do any good. If someone wants to do something like that which was carried out earlier this morning, they’re going to figure out a way to do it.

I think President Obama said it best earlier today –

If there’s anything to take away from this tragedy it’s the reminder that life is very fragile. Our time here is limited and it is precious. And what matters at the end of the day is not the small things, it’s not the trivial things, which so often consume us and our daily lives. Ultimately, it’s how we choose to treat one another and how we love one another.” -President Obama on the shootings in Aurora, Colorado (From The White House Facebook Page)

Regardless, this is not meant to be a political rant about gun control or lack thereof, it’s meant to be a way to process my thoughts the only way I know how best – to write them out.

Today’s tragedy brings reminders of Columbine and Oklahoma City, Norway, mall shootings. Did you know one of today’s victims was an aspiring journalist who narrowly escaped the Toronto mall shooting last month? WHAT? How awful!

Today’s tragedy reminds me of where I was for each of the incidents I mentioned above. I can tell you the exact thing I was doing and how it made me feel for each one. Senseless tragedies do that to a person – cause them to always remember in that vein.

So here I sit. My class is finished. I’ve been social for the day. I think I’ll go home and take my pooch for a long walk. I don’t care how hot it is outside. The fact is, I’m still alive and I can walk.

I count my blessings as I type. Go count yours and hug a loved one while you’re at it. May God bless YOU.

Note: if you wish to comment, please do. Understand though, that if you get too nasty or political, I will not approve (or I will remove) your comment. It’s my blog after all. Go start your own if you’re going to be like that. Share objective thoughts and positive vibes. That’s all I and my readers appreciate here. God bless.

 

Leave a Reply

  • July 2012
    M T W T F S S
    « Jun   Aug »
     1
    2345678
    9101112131415
    16171819202122
    23242526272829
    3031  
  • My Business Card

    Lisa on Cardly
