Supporting the Efforts of Susan G. Komen Race for the Cure

I really need to write more. Let me get that out of the way first.  OK, now that I have let me share with you a short story.

Over a year ago I began working for Fonville Morisey Realty in Raleigh. I was not even a month in and in order to encourage our Fonville family to join our team for the upcoming Susan G. Komen Race for the Cure, I was tasked with creating a video and a month later, I was at the Komen Race “covering” it from Fonville Morisey’s perspective –

That was the first time I had ever been a part of a race for a Foundation that’s been around for thirty years. Over the years I’ve raised donations for a multitude of organizations, I support our local food bank (Food Bank of CENC) as a “Social Media Ambassador” and fundraiser, but the only other “walk” event I have participated in was Boston’s Project Bread – Walk for Hunger back in the 90s. I don’t know why I haven’t thrown on the walking shoes again since but at last year’s Komen Race, I understood why there were so many walkers, racers, volunteers, cheerleaders, and it made me want to participate again.

You see, once you witness the faces of the Survivors smiling brightly cheering each other on, the sea of pink and white, listen to the uplifting stories being told around the facility, and take it all in, you can’t help but stream tears of joy for the incredible experience that it is. Even now as I write this, I’m looking forward to tomorrow morning’s event in Raleigh with tears in my eyes.

The Fonville Morisey / 1 in 9 Team for Triangle Komen Race for the Cure 2011

Once again, I will be “covering” it from Fonville Morisey’s perspective but this is is one assignment I happily take. We’ll have over 150 team members (and their families!) there. We have raised over $18K for the cause. THIS is why I work for Fonville Morisey…well, one of the reasons anyway. My colleagues have HUGE hearts!

If you’re out and about tomorrow morning and don’t feel like joining the race, join the fun. Stand along the route and cheer these folks on. I guarantee you’ll be as moved as I am.

And if you get a chance, support your local Komen organization. I’ve had 3 family members (or friends) diagnosed with Breast Cancer, one of whom has passed away (Grandma…you are forever missed!). Cancer sucks. But, we can fight it…or at least do the best we can to fight it anyway.

That’s why I support the Susan G. Komen Race for the Cure. I am pro Cure. I hope you are too.

Feel free to comment below but remember, I reserve the right not to approve your comment.  If you can’t be supportive or at the very least objective, don’t expect your comment to be approved. I have that right. It’s the beauty of running your own blog. 🙂

 

Leave a Reply

  • June 2012
    M T W T F S S
    « Apr   Jul »
     123
    45678910
    11121314151617
    18192021222324
    252627282930  
  • My Business Card

    Lisa on Cardly
