Blog Action Day 2011: I Feel Blessed – I’m Not Hungry

Today is Blog Action Day 2011. The theme is “Food” as it coincides with World Food Day. For the first time ever, I’m participating because though broad, the subject of fighting hunger is a topic that is near and dear to my heart. I feel blessed because I am not hungry.

Each week I make my list and I…well, my husband…goes grocery shopping. Through a collection of coupons or via our local store savings card, we make enough purchases to fulfill the need for our week. Cereals, produce, veggie burgers, milk, coffee, peanut butter, oatmeal – things many of us take for granted, but items that we are fortunate enough to be able to afford. This is not the case for many folks, including the ones that live right in our own backyard.

God rained manna on whole civilizations when needed. If He can do it, why can’t we?

Nobody should go hungry. Period. Nobody.

In fact, it’s a travesty if they do. I get that each person, each family, has its own set of circumstances and for some it just may be their own fault for getting into such a situation that speaks hunger, but it doesn’t matter. We are all human beings and among the many things we have been taught by God, taking care of our own is one of them. God rained manna on whole civilizations when needed. If He can do it, why can’t we?

Much of the last two and a half years I found myself unemployed through no fault of my own; just a circumstance of our economy. There could’ve been times when I could’ve gone hungry myself. I’ll admit, there were times when spaghetti and peanut butter and jelly were staples on the menu (although, I also admit that was probably mostly due to pure lazyness more than anything else). The thing is I never wanted for not. I…we…never had a need to file for food stamps or rely on donations from a local church. God blessed us through the entire time and we are very grateful for that.

But, it could’ve been different. Much different. That is why for the last two and a half years, my primary focus of awareness and fundraising was for our local food bank, The Food Bank of Central and Eastern North Carolina. Through that time period I became acutely aware of my blessings and the need that many people have in our local community. I couldn’t just sit back on my laurels and wish the best for those less fortunate. I had to do something. I had to give back.

FoodBank of CENC Social Media Mixer Registration Table 2010

Through my women’s organization – the Tweet Divas – we held at least two food drives a year since 2009 as I merely asked for the ladies in attendance at our gatherings to bring canned goods and donations for our Food Bank. If there was another organization driving for food, then I would give to that too. Now that I have a full-time job for a company I am also blessed to work for, we too have given back to the Food Bank of CENC through our very successful food drive we hosted during the month of July raising over one ton of food for the cause.

Folks, it’s not hard to help your hungry. Just pick up a couple of extra cans of food, a container of baby formula, a roll of paper towels even when you do your weekly grocery shopping. Set them aside for a local food drive or take all the extra you’ve bought for a month and make it a personal food drive to donate to your local food bank. Again, it’s not hard.

Perhaps your next door neighbor is going through some tough times and you don’t even know it. Why not give to a cause that just might be helping them?

The Food Bank of Central and Eastern North Carolina serves 34 counties in and around the Triangle area where I live. Check out their website for a plethora of ideas on ways you too can actively donate to the cause.

Most importantly, remember YOU are blessed. I’ve said it before and I’ll say it again – you have been blessed. If you’re reading this right now from the comfort of your couch, home office or what have you, the fact is you are able to read this. That tells me that you just might have a little bit to spare to such a worthy cause as hunger in your community. Think about it. Perhaps your next door neighbor is going through some tough times and you don’t even know it. Why not give to a cause that just might be helping them?

To the organizers at Blog Action Day, thank you for allowing me to raise awareness for this topic this year. I look forward to next year’s Action Day too.

Leave a Reply

  • October 2011
    M T W T F S S
    « Sep   Jan »
     12
    3456789
    10111213141516
    17181920212223
    24252627282930
    31  
  • My Business Card

    Lisa on Cardly
