Professional Networking Applications DO NOT BELONG on Facebook

There. I said it.

Whew.

I know I’m not the only one who feels this way. I can’t be. There are now over 800 million people on the platform.  I’ll bet there are a few additional folks like myself that see it the way I do.  Here are my top 3 reasons why –

Reason #1 My Profile picture changes from time to time

Currently, it’s an image of me and my husband on a day in North Carolina wine country. It’s casual. It’s FRIENDly. It’s not professional. I will not change my profile picture to reflect my professional beautiful self. No siree, Bob! If I want to share an image of myself and my dog, Lucy, I will. And I do not want any of these photos associated with a professional application in the medium. Period.

Reason #2 I can’t opt-out

If my “friends” decide to use one of several professional applications (i.e. Branch Out, BeKnown, or now Talent.Me), I don’t have the ability to opt-out of my association with that application. Therefore, my profile picture of my husband and I or my dog and I is visible to their networks within…and people from those networks can click on the image to see what I have posted publicly (which is minimal, by the way). Nope. Not having that.

A personal shot of rows of vines taken at West Bend Vineyards; Sept 2011

Reason #3 – I joined Facebook to connect PERSONALLY

If I choose to connect with someone that I know professionally to add them to my personal profile of friends, then so be it. But, I did not join Facebook to connect with them professionally. Linked In is for that as far as I’m concerned.

I get progress. I get change. I get wanting to be connected and to feel loved and to share your expertise and to…. I get it. But for the love of God, can we keep one social network out there that is just for our friends, family, personal connections, please?

Each of the applications I mentioned assumes that all 800 million of us want to be connected professionally. NO, we don’t!

So, to my “friends” that I’m about to prune – I love you. I do. I am so glad to have had the opportunity to get to know you on a personal level or to reconnect with you (from high school). I wish you all the very best. I really do. And please feel free to connect with me on LinkedIn, if you so desire (or Twitter!). However, I’m afraid I am deleting you.

Someone please get this message to those professional platforms out there, including Facebook itself (Talent.Me is one of theirs, I understand).

Oh and for more about Talent.Me, see this post by Julia Erickson*. While she has opted to use the application, she explains some bugs with it and more importantly, lists a couple of reasons (though probably inadvertently) why some of us just don’t want to associate with professional networking platforms on Facebook.

Now, if you’ll excuse me, I’m going to go pick out a new FUN picture for my profile. Might include Lucy. Might not. My friends (who stick around) will have to wait and see!

*This link originally worked when I posted the piece. I’ve been notified that it’s currently not working. However, I am leaving it in the post just in case the error has been since fixed. If not, well, it WAS a really good article. 🙂

Comments
5 Responses to “Professional Networking Applications DO NOT BELONG on Facebook”
  1. Jasen says:

    Lisa,

    Interesting piece – I agree with your point that we should not cross pleasure with business. It’s quite valid and important.

    Please don’t take this the wrong way, but I’m a bit of a jerk about proper english. I believe that your use of the pronoun ‘I’ in Reason #1 is incorrect. It should be: ‘it’s an image of me and my husband’. The simple way to test the use of ‘I’, is to eliminate the other person’s name, and that is the pronoun that you would use (me or I), than it’s correct. You probably wouldn’t say, ‘it’s an image of I…’

    Again, I’m sorry to be a jerk and point this out – but I believe it’s important to be taken seriously as a writer.

    • Actually, thank YOU for the grammar lesson. I am a former grammar teacher and you would have thought I would have picked that out myself. D’OH! Even I get confused with “i” before “e” except after “c” still sometimes. 🙂 Needless to say, making the corrections now.

      Thanks for reading and commenting!

  2. Lisa says:

    Agreed! Great article- Thank you.

  3. link doesn’t work:
    see this post by Julia Erickson.

Leave a Reply

  • September 2011
    M T W T F S S
    « Aug   Oct »
     1234
    567891011
    12131415161718
    19202122232425
    2627282930  
  • My Business Card

    Lisa on Cardly
