Super Pumped for Garner’s Own Scotty McCreery on American Idol

Me with Anoop Desai, Season 8 Finalist American Idol and Chapel Hill native

Anyone who knows me knows that I am a HUGE American Idol fan.  I’ve been watching since the very first show of the very first season.  I love the entire show – from opening auditions to the Finale.  If my DVR could only record one show each week, that would be it.  Of course, anyone who knows me also knows that I love to sing too.  That’s probably why this particular show gets me every time.

But, this year, it’s taken on a whole new meaning as the small town just outside of Raleigh, North Carolina that I call home – Garner – has one of its own in the Top 13, Scotty McCreery, the very same guy that just a few short weeks ago rang up our groceries for us at our local Lowe’s Foods store and the very same guy that won a similar competition, Clayton Idol (in Clayton, North Carolina), back in 2009.

Scotty is a country boy with a heart for the Lord and a true gift of song from God.  He gets on stage and it all comes naturally to him. I saw it in 2009 and it hasn’t changed.  He hasn’t changed.

And he’s a GOOD kid too!  Howmany teens can you say play baseball for their local high school team, support charitable causes whenever they get the chance, and perform in front of thousands – or in this case, millions?  Not many.

I support Scotty with every vote I can give him…and I mean that literally.  Last week, I voted 50 plus times!  In all the years of watching, I’ve never done that.

I have to admit, though, this year’s talent pool is tremendous.  I just pray that Scotty continues to do as well as he has.  No matter what, I have a feeling this kid is going places.  He’s too talented and too gracious not to.

Go Scotty, GO! You have my vote.  🙂

Comments
2 Responses to “Super Pumped for Garner’s Own Scotty McCreery on American Idol”
  1. saronne says:

    I voted 50x also- first time- and I’m 71 LOL This young man will be a top star in CW – how could it be otherwise?
    I wish it were 1 vote per person, though- too easy for the results to be skewed and AI only does this to make it appear there are far more viewers than there really are. I just pray (literally) that the touring won’t exhaust him- it is a nightmare for everybody, really. This is a cutthroat business and he is really too decent for it- as is Susan Boyle.

    • lasullivan says:

      Good to know I wasn’t the only one voting 50 times, Saronne! Thanks for the validation there. 😉

      Let’s look at the success of Carrie Underwood. While I don’t see Scotty at THAT level per se (Carrie was so special), I do see that there is opportunity for good, decent, talented and God-gifted people (men or women) who have a chance at a successful shot in the music business. That’s how I see Scotty. He’s got a gift, he’s got a good head on his shoulders, and if he surrounds himself with the right team, they won’t let him stray from the man that he is turning out to be. Yeah, it can be rough. No doubt. But, I have a feeling Scotty will prevail.

      Thanks for reading and commenting. 🙂

Leave a Reply

  • March 2011
    M T W T F S S
    « Feb   Apr »
     123456
    78910111213
    14151617181920
    21222324252627
    28293031  
  • My Business Card

    Lisa on Cardly
