Raleigh Rolled Out the Red Carpet for the NHL All Star Game and I Was There!

It was a once in a lifetime opportunity that I just could not pass up!

For two years now, I have been volunteering my expertise and skills to (and for) worthy causes in the Triangle.  From helping with the promotions team for Wordcamp RDU to being the volunteer coordinator for all three Ignite events (two in Raleigh and the recent one in Durham) to co-sponsoring (through my Tweet Divas) the Food Bank of Central and Eastern North Carolina Social Media Mixer last June and the first Garner Citizen Social, I’ve been all over this community and I love it!  BUT, when I heard there was an opportunity to volunteer in a capacity that would help catapult Raleigh as a premier hockey community, I jumped on it.

Waiting for All Star Red Carpet Arrivals with Meredith Morgan

Two weeks ago, Raleigh hosted the 2011 NHL All Star Weekend.  Full of events like Fan Fair, the NHL All Star Fantasy Draft, Raleigh All Star Wide Open, Red Carpet Arrivals, and of course, the game itself, there was bound to be an area or two I was qualified to assist in.

On Friday and Sunday of All Star weekend I was assigned to help corral the crowds at the Stanley Cup and trophy exhibits inside Fan Fair.  I even got my picture taken with the Cup itself!

Me and my new friend, Stanley

But, on Saturday, I felt like I won the lottery as I got to assist the media for the All Star Red Carpet Arrivals event.  I was THIS close to Cam Ward.  Hello!

I am a sports fan.  In my spare time, you’ll see me attending sporting events, managing a Fantasy Football team (Team Sully), even watching golf on television (sometimes playing it as well).  Since living in the Triangle, I have become a HUGE Canes fan so it was a no-brainer to volunteer for this particular NHL All Star weekend.

Two weeks later (almost three) and I still marvel that I was there.  It was truly a once in a lifetime opportunity.  Thank you to the NHL organizers for picking Raleigh as the destination city for 2011.  Don’t wait too long to come back, OK?

Leave a Reply

  • February 2011
    M T W T F S S
    « Jan   Mar »
     123456
    78910111213
    14151617181920
    21222324252627
    28  
  • My Business Card

    Lisa on Cardly
