Searching for My Thought Leadership in My Passions

I’ve had this blog for quite some time as evidenced by the obscene amount of categories and sub-categories (a note to those you out there just starting out – just pick a few categories; not 37 million like I have).  Over the last two years, though, I have been writing more frequently, I haven’t really provided “thought leadership” on a subject that I feel I am qualified to discuss.  I have narrowed down my categories somewhat and I suppose one would say that the “social networking” category would qualify as thought leadership.  But, really, it doesn’t.

Recently, I was reminded by one of the smartest guys I know – Jeff Cohen who is a leader in the social media B2B realm – that I should think more about what I’m a thought leader in and start writing about it.  The way he explained it to me was that by writing about my expertise in a particular area, I would be able to provide considerably more value to those that read my blog.  That makes sense!  I started this blog in 2005 as a journal more so than anything else but now I see that I have the potential to use it as a way to influence others, make a difference, and sometimes combine them both.  Now, why didn’t I think of that before?!

Me with Jennifer Newmeyer of the Food Bank of Central & Eastern North Carolina

So…for the last couple of weeks I’ve been thinking about what exactly I could provide expertise in.  Sure, I could continue down the path of social networking since I spend so much time in the medium using it, understanding it, learning it, etc. but that’s not good enough.  There are many MANY people who blog about the medium.  I don’t want to be just another fish in the social media sea. So, I had to begin to look at it from another angle, and I’d like to thank my friend Ashley Sue for reminding me about passion.

In one of her recent blog posts, she talks about working in your passion and not just for the sake of “working”. I loved her post!  Her insights were dead on.  And of course, so many wonderful authors (Bob Burg, you come to mind, my Friend) also speak of being passionate about what you do and finding success because of it.  Still, I love hearing that same philosophy from a friend.  Thanks, Ashley Sue!

What am I passionate about?

Right now – it’s community, building communities online and off.  So often, I see blog post after blog post, Tweet after Tweet, article after article about the tools that make up social media, the Return On Investment (ROI) from engaging in the space, etc. but I see very few articles, Tweets, or blog posts that talk about what it means to build a community, what it takes to intertwine the tools to make it happen, and how ROI is truly measured.  Because I’m so passionate about that, I could talk about it.  I could.

But, I’m also passionate about giving back to the community as individuals, as families, as companies, as groups of people.  I love making a difference in my community!  There’s a natural high I get when I do.  It’s SUCH a rewarding thing to really be a part of my community by bringing awareness to a cause or a need.  I am a loving person and giving back comes naturally.  I could talk about that topic easily.  I could.

The bottom line is, I’m still searching for my thought leadership and I’m hoping one day soon it will come to me.  For now, I pray that whatever I write in my blog is inspirational in and of itself and somehow makes a difference to others.  I’m fine with that but I have a feeling that once I figure out what passion I wish to write about my frequently, whatever difference I’m making now will only multiply.  I’d be GREAT with that.

How ’bout you? Have you figured out your passion?  Do you provide thought leadership on a topic you can’t get enough of?  Why did you pick that topic and how has it helped you grow as well as make a difference in your community?  I’d love to hear about it.

In the meantime, I need to get back to that searching thing.

Passion, where art thou?

Comments
2 Responses to “Searching for My Thought Leadership in My Passions”
  1. shobavish says:

    We seem to be traveling on the same path and so I just wanted to say hi! I like the way you have laid thought out – I can relate. Good luck on that passion quest….

Trackbacks
Check out what others are saying...
  1. […] This post was mentioned on Twitter by Lisa Sullivan, Jeffrey L. Cohen. Jeffrey L. Cohen said: Thanks for the shoutout on your post @LisaSullivan: Searching For My Thought Leadership http://ow.ly/3QBrj Good luck! […]



Leave a Reply

  • February 2011
    M T W T F S S
    « Jan   Mar »
     123456
    78910111213
    14151617181920
    21222324252627
    28  
  • My Business Card

    Lisa on Cardly
