Reflections of 2010

Door Prizes for Raffle for Tweet Divas 4 Haiti in February 2010

It’s a Thursday evening — New Year’s Eve eve to be exact — and I sit here reflecting on the year that was, realizing that A LOT has happened in a 12-month span of time.  Not that this is any different than any other year but for some reason this time of reflection seems extra poignant.

Maybe it’s because I haven’t blogged in a month.  That might have something to do with it.  But, really, as you read on, you’ll see what I mean.

Reflection #1 – The Haiti Earthquake

One word – devastating. The numbers alone give it away – nearly 230,000 killed, another 300,000 injured, and over 1 million left homeless, most living in “tent cities” until the infrastructure can be rebuilt.

Can you imagine?

Door Prizes for Raffle for Tweet Divas 4 Haiti in February 2010

I wanted to do something to help so I aligned the women’s group I organize (Tweet Divas) with a local charity with ties to Haiti.  We raised over $400 for them, which doesn’t sound like much but in their world, it’s a lot!  I’m proud of my Divas and to this day, I’m even prouder that we stepped up to the plate to help in a meaningful way.

I continue to pray for the Haitian people and if there’s anything I can do in 2011 to make life a little easier for them, I’ll give it my best effort.  Needless to say, the Haitian earthquake had a definite impact on 2010.

Reflection #2 – Everybody wants an iPad

Including me!

Come on.  Who doesn’t want one? The iPad is a technological breakthrough and it’ll only become more advanced as Apple continues to make modifications and additions to it.  Even my father has one!  From a personal standpoint, that’s pretty impressive.

Reflection #3 – Let’s just call it “Climate Impact”

Between SNOWmageddon in February, causing upwards of 40 inches of snowfall in two simultaneous storms wreaking havoc from DC to Philly to New York, to the hottest summer on record for Raleigh, the coldest December on record as well, to the recent mudslides in California as well as the Blizzard that just trampled through the East Coast, need I say more?

And if we keep going the way we’re going, the impact on our climate will only get worse as each year progresses.  There is a reason for all the “greenies” in the world.  God Bless ’em!  And I thank ’em for making their respective impacts as they encourage the rest of us to make changes to our daily lives that will only help our planet in the long run.

Reflection #3 – The New Orleans Saints led by Drew Brees & Coach Payton won the Super Bowl

OK…not quite as impacting as everything else I’ve mentioned so far but as a die-hard NFL football fan, this was HUGE.  Watching the Saints push all season long until their efforts paid off was something to behold…and I’m a Patriots fan!  Gotta give credit where credit is due.  Kudos again to the Saints for their amazing win in February 2010!

Reflection #4 – BP oil well explosion STILL baffles me

The environmental & economical impact this one incident has had on our coastline, the people that live & work there, the animals that call the Gulf home, etc. was so incredibly devastating AND baffling.  Nothing of this magnitude has ever happened in the history of open water oil drilling.

Oil companies need to investigate their own methods to ensure this never happens again while at the same time we humans need to continue to create (and utilize) opportunities for alternative fuels.  In my opinion, “going green” should become more of a priority for individuals, companies, governments. Leading cleaner lives can only impact us as humans and as a planet on a positive level.

Reflection #5 – Winner for Most Heart Warming (not to mention, heart-wrenching) story of the year – the Chilean Miners rescue

Who was not glued to their TV for days on end in October of this year?  And if it wasn’t the TV, it was social networking sites — namely, Twitter or Facebook — waiting and watching as each miner was lifted to safety after spending 3 months nearly 2 miles underground.

I don’t know about you but I felt like I cried for 48 hours straight.  Each time a miner was lifted and embraced their awaiting loved one, my eyes welled up in tears.  It was truly heart-warming to see.

And let’s not forget the people who came to the rescue – nations, governments, rescue workers from around the world, even NASA.  What an amazing effort!

Reflection #6 – A shift in government as the mid-term elections took center stage and provided results that, in my opinion, were not unexpected.

I usually don’t talk politics.  Heck, I don’t even like the subject.  However, I can’t deny what transpired as a result of the mid-term elections on November 2nd.  The Democrats lost control while a sitting Democrat retains the office of President.  Even I know that’s HUGE.

Let’s see what happens these next two years.  I expect the Presidential race will become the subject of much debate even before the ball drops in Times Square tomorrow night.

Reflection #7 – My only Pop Culture note – Prince William gets engaged!

I distinctly remember where I was when his mother, Princess Diana of Wales married his father, Prince Charles.  I was on vacation in the mountains of New Hampshire with my family.  All swimming stopped in favor of watching the ceremony on the little 12-inch television in the cabin we were staying at (I think the TV was black and white too!).

You can bet your bippy that I will watch as Prince William & his betrothed become one in holy matrimony.  Call me a geek, a celebrity junky, a nerd, what have you.  I’ll happily take on the moniker as I know MILLIONS of others around the world will also be watching and I’ll be in good company!

Reflection #8 – the death of Elizabeth Edwards

Words cannot express my deepest sympathy and the overall sadness I felt as I heard of her passing.  I didn’t blog about it then and won’t really say much here.  What I will touch upon is that for me, her legacy will be the unparalleled strength, determination, love, & kindness, she showed right up until her final days.  While I will only ever know her public persona, I can only assume that what we were privy to isn’t all that far from the true person she was and for that, I will always be grateful to her for the example she set.

May Elizabeth Edwards rest in peace.

Reflection #9 – the merry-go-round that is our economy

Significant unemployment numbers, fluctuating gas and grocery prices, consumer spending surges during the holidays, and the passage of the Tax Bill – all of it significantly impacted our day-to-day lives in 2010.  I personally thank God and Congress for the passage of the latest Tax Bill, particularly for the added weeks of unemployment compensation that will carry me through (hopefully) until I find a job, which brings me to…

Reflection #10 – I still need a job!

I am probably the busiest unemployed person you will ever meet.  Okay, that’s stretching it but seriously, I have never been busier as I have been as an unemployed individual seeking work.  Between volunteering my time for events and causes that mean something to me that have fostered new relationships and contacts, leading my own women’s professional group, working part-time, working full-time (though it was a temporary contract), attending various networking events, etc, you’d have thought I would’ve found the perfect job for me by now.  Nope.  I have gotten fairly close to being hired for two amazing opportunities but fell short of that third interview in 2010.  But, outside of that – nothing.

Here’s to hoping 2011 will lead me to the job I have been searching for!

And these are just overall observations about the year that was 2010.  On a personal note, despite not having a full-time job, I can’t complain.  I have met more people, gotten to be a part of some amazing events, volunteered my time & expertise for causes that I believe in.  I still have my health too.  I am undoubtedly blessed!

Some of my predictions for 2011:

  • We will see a turn-around for the economy – a positive one.
  • I will get job
  • The climate will continue to play a version of “climate roulette” that ought to impact our planet as a whole
  • There will also be further advances in technology (who’s waiting in line for the iPad 2 already?)
  • The highest rated TV program that will be simultaneously streamed online will be Prince William and Kate’s wedding ceremony (mark my words!  Well, unless more miners are rescued that is)

and

Big Brother…I mean government… will continue to watch your every move.

What are some of your reflections of 2010?  Anything jump out at you that I didn’t cover?  Share your thoughts below.

Happy New Year!  May 2011 mean more peace, prosperity, and love for you and your loved ones.  May YOU be continually blessed!

Comments
3 Responses to “Reflections of 2010”
  1. rogerthesurf says:

    Yeah, you didn’t cover the fact that we are in the grip of the biggest and most insane hoax in history, and unless the public get wise to it soon, we will all be parted from what wealth we have.

    Lets take a simple economic view of what is likely to happen.

    In the absence of sufficient alternative solutions/technologies, the only way western countries can ever attain the IPCC demands of CO2 emissions reduced to 40% below 1990 levels, (thats about 60% below todays) is to machine restrictions on the use of fossil fuels. Emission Trading schemes are an example.

    As the use of fossil fuels is roughly linear with anthropogenic CO2 emissions, to attain a 60% reduction of emissions , means about the same proportion of reduction of fossil fuel usage, including petrol, diesel, heating oil, not to mention coal and other types including propane etc.

    No matter how a restriction on the use of these is implemented even a 10% decrease will make the price of petrol go sky high. In otherwords, (and petrol is just one example) we can expect, if the IPCC has its way, a price rise on petrol of greater than 500%.
    First of all, for all normal people, this will make the family car impossible to use. Worse than that though, the transport industry will also have to deal with this as well and they will need to pass the cost on to the consumer. Simple things like food will get prohibitively expensive. Manufacturers who need fossil energy to produce will either pass the cost on to the consumer or go out of business. If you live further than walking distance from work, you will be in trouble.
    All this leads to an economic crash of terrible proportions as unemployment rises and poverty spreads.
    I believe that this will be the effect of bowing to the IPCC and the AGW lobby. AND as AGW is a hoax it will be all in vain. The world will continue to do what it has always done while normal people starve and others at the top (including energy/oil companies and emission traders) will enjoy the high prices.

    Neither this scenario nor any analysis of the cost of CO2 emission reductions is included in IPCC literature, and the Stern report which claims economic expansion is simply not obeying economic logic as it is known in todays academic world.

    The fact that the emission reduction cost issue is not discussed, leads me to believe that there is a deliberate cover up of this issue. Fairly obviously the possibility of starvation will hardly appear to the masses.

    AGW is baloney anyway!

    Cheers

    Roger

    http://www.rogerfromnewzealand.wordpress.com

    • lasullivan says:

      WOW, Roger! Not quite what I had in mind for a response but I had to publish it since you put so much thought and passion into it. 🙂

      I believe green living, climate change, etc. is a subject area that will continue to grow as more and more people become aware that their daily choices do affect the planet as a whole. Most people don’t think about these things simply because it’s not in the forefront of their minds, and I could list all the reasons why but quite frankly, it’s not necessary. The bottom line is we as a human race need to make simple changes in our homes that will ultimately be better for our planet as a whole.

      I won’t get into a debate about politics because I just don’t like discussing it (see Reflection #6). That’s a whole other ball of yarn that I refuse to untangle. Just my choice. I hope you will respect that.

      Actually, in my question to the masses I was hoping for short & simple answers but I do thank you for taking the time to read my post & thoughtfully comment. Such passion! Keep it up!

      • rogerthesurf says:

        My comment was not about politics, but more in reply to your reflection #3.

        I agree that we must take care of the earths resources as you describe but am simply pointing out the consequences of going down the “climate change” road, which by the way, does nothing to further those green living things you mention.

        Cheers

        Roger

        http://www.rogerfromnewzealand.wordpress.com

Leave a Reply

  • December 2010
    M T W T F S S
    « Nov   Jan »
     12345
    6789101112
    13141516171819
    20212223242526
    2728293031  
  • My Business Card

    Lisa on Cardly
