Blogging is For What?

Relay for Life JoCo Luminaries

Kind of a rant.  Kind of not.

This weekend, I had been reading through many of the Tweets from the Blog World and New Media Expo 2010, the UBER conference all things blogging that takes place in Las Vegas this time every year, and the conference I aim to someday attend.  Hello!  It IS a blogger conference.  This is a blog. I am a blogger.  Enough said.

Saturday’s keynote topic was the 7 Harsh Realities of Blogging for Bucks with Darren Rowse (CEO of ProBlogger; also @ProBlogger on Twitter), Brian Clark (CEO of CopyBlogger) and Sonya Simone (Senior Editor of Copyblogger).  I had been following those Tweets and then realized I could watch online on the Expo website (big hugs & muchos gracias to the organizers and USTREAM).

I love this topic because though it’s a common one, each time a panelist discusses it, there is a wealth of new information amongst the “same ole, same ole”.  What stuck out at me in the tweet stream were two statements:

“Daddy, tell the world something important” (paraphrased)

and

“The biggest reason no one reads your blog is you’re not writing something they care about” (also paraphrased).

The first comment actually came from Darren’s four year-old.  How wise is he!  The second, I believe, was also a Darren statement.  That Darren Rowse.  I like that guy!

 

Relay for Life JoCo Luminaries

Luminaries light the path around Johnston Community College for Relay for Life, 2008

 

Here’s the thing.  This blog that you are currently reading is not one for money.  Nope.  It’s my personal blog.  Now, there are things I can do to make money from it.  I could add Google Adwords or “sell” ad space.  It’s not hard to do.  I just choose not to, and if truth be told, without an actual “niche” to focus on, it would be hard to…I think.  Correct me if I’m wrong.

Telling the world something important means more to me than any dollar can.

I blog for the sheer joy of writing, of practicing my craft, and in the hopes of making a difference.  Whether I write about charity-driven causes (like the last couple of entries), the blessings of my Birthday (or life in general), or I share my favorite things about North Carolina, my focus is varied.  And guess what, people?  I’m perfectly OK with that.

And that’s what I loved about Darren’s four year-old’s take on blogging. Telling the world something important means more to me than any dollar can. Don’t get me wrong.  Sure, I’d love to make a dollar (or 2 or 3…) out of my blogging but it’s not why I choose to pour my heart (and sometimes my guts) out to the masses.

You see, blogging is a way for me to make MY difference in this world.  If I appeal to 10 readers or to 1,000 readers, GREAT!  That’s more than appealing to just little ole me…and what good would that do?  If someone happens to enjoy my writing style and would like to hire me to promote their thoughts, actions, products, a combination thereof, well then that’s just another bonus.

Darren’s young offspring is on to something.  Make a difference and the rest will follow.  That’s my mantra too.

Have you thought about why you blog?  What do you hope to get out of it?  I’d be interested to hear your thoughts.

Now if you’ll excuse me, I’m going to empty the penny jar to see just how much money I need to save for next year’s conference.

Leave a Reply

  • My Business Card

    Lisa on Cardly
