Got the Flu and Counting My Blessings on My Birthday!

South Nags Head, NC OBX

Today is my Birthday and I’m sick as a dog.  No fun, right?  This time last year I was enjoying a week away on Carolina’s Outer Banks with the hubster and the pooch as both my husband and I celebrated our 40th Birthdays together.  After a year of unknowns it was much-deserved and definitely well worth it.

 

South Nags Head, NC OBX

The Beach in S. Nags Head, NC OBX

 

This year, I find myself with the dreaded flu.  I haven’t been this sick on my Birthday since…maybe…seven (or eight) years ago?

People who really know me, know that I LOVE my Birthday!  They know I look forward to it every year.  In fact, I consider the whole month of October my “Birthday MONTH”.  The way I figure it, my Birthday is MY day.  It’s a celebration of me!  So, why not enjoy it and celebrate it regardless of the aging process, right?

So, for me to be bed-ridden sick popping cough drops like Werther’s candies while drinking more water than a tired camel in the dessert rather than out at the N.C. State Fair (which also happens to begin today) riding the rides, eating that oh so delectable Deep-Fried Snickers, and hanging with my social media friends at the Deep Fried Triangle Tweetup – well, it’s a bummer.  Rather than wallow in self-pity, I’m going to enjoy my day of rest and count my blessings or as the NC State Fair tagline reads this year, “Celebrate what’s GREAT” about my life.

 

Fireball ride at the North Carolina State Fair

Fireball at the NC State Fair

 

What’s great?

I am alive.

I can move all my limbs.  I can breathe clean (well, mostly clean) air.

I have a God that loves me, guides me, and protects me, among other things.

I have a husband who is my soul mate.  We have a family of furry ones that rely on us and love us just as much.

I have family all over the country that, as unique as we all are, the one common thread that keeps us together, is that we love each other unconditionally.

I have friends all over the world.  Some are my closest, deepest friendships while others aren’t as much but I love them all the same.

I have a roof over my head, a nice one at that.

I have a kitchen stocked with all kinds of ingredients to make delectable meals, snacks, & treats with.  YUM!

I have a vehicle that will take me from point “A” to point “B”.  Enough said.

I will be blessed with the perfect full-time position when the time is right.

I am just plain blessed overall.  That’s what’s GREAT!

 

Sunrise on Nags Head, October 2008

 

So, despite feeling like a big ole baby and wishing my grandma would stop by with a chocolate shake from Barone’s (my hometown friends will understand that) and an Archie comic book or Teen Beat magazine, I count my blessings today and know that my Birthday this year is just as special as any Birthday in year’s past.

Now, if you’ll excuse me, I hear the couch calling my name.

Happy Birthday to me!

Leave a Reply

  • My Business Card

    Lisa on Cardly
