Farewell to Brooks and Dunn

I just finished watching the all-star Brooks and Dunn tribute on CBS and I was going to Tweet my thoughts but realized I couldn’t do it in 140 characters.  Then, I decided I’d Facebook it.  Yeah, that wasn’t going to do it either so I reached the conclusion that the only way I could say farewell to THE greatest duo in Country music was to blog about it.  Here I am.

I can’t believe it’s been twenty years.  When I think back to that time in my life, I was mid-way through my college education and really wasn’t THAT into the genre.  I mean, I knew who they were but at that time, if there was anyone I was following it was Reba, Garth, or George (do I really have to give you last names here?).

What I can tell you is when Boot Scootin’ Boogie came out, I fell in love.  Now there was a fun song!  I had absolutely no idea how to do the “boot scootin’ boogie” but I’ll be darned if I didn’t give it the ole college try in my living room.  I think that was the song that got me to listen a little bit harder to what Country music had to say…and I’m glad I did.

Over the years, I can honestly say that Country music has become my favorite genre.  You just can’t get any better than a story told in lyrics combined with some amazing guitar licks – steel or otherwise.  Sure, sometimes the lyrics can get a bit too country for my taste but in general, Country music just moves me.  And over the years, Brooks and Dunn’s style of Country did the same.

There were so many fantastic performances of some of Brooks and Dunn’s greatest hits on that CBS special.  My favorites had to have been Jennifer Hudson’s take on “Believe”; Lady Antebellum’s rendition of “If You See Her/If You See Him”, the Brooks and Dunn hit with fellow artist, Reba McIntyre; the harmonies from the boys of Rascal Flatts for their performance of “Better All the Time”; and “Red Dirt Road” as performed by Sugarland (see below).

I’ve never seen them in concert.  I don’t know why.  I’ve been to plenty of concerts through the years but for one reason or another whenever they came to town, I missed them.  I might’ve been transitioning from job to job or just from state to state.  I don’t know, but I missed them.

Brooks and Dunn are in the middle of their final tour – The Last Rodeo Tour.  They’re coming to Raleigh and once again (due to extended unemployment) I’m not sure I’ll get to see them.  So, I sincerely thank CBS for televising what was probably the most incredible concert to see in person.  You gave those of us a glimpse into goodbye, giving us a feeling as if we too get to say “goodbye”.

Brooks and Dunn, it’s been an amazing twenty years.  Thank you for the music and the memories!

Here’s a fitting clip of Country duo, Sugarland, paying tribute to THE duo with their rendition of Red Dirt Road.  Absolutely tear-jerking…but for a good reason!

Brooks and Dunn image courtesy of Taragana.

Leave a Reply

  • My Business Card

    Lisa on Cardly
