Putting God Before Man

Literally.

The Altar at TRINITY United Methodist Church

I missed Wordcamp Raleigh yesterday for a couple of reasons, with the biggest being that I was scheduled to work at the Ava Gardner Museum (my very part-time gig while I look for that perfect full-time one).  My normal schedule is Thursdays and Fridays 9-3 but since one of our Docents is on vacation, I switched my schedule to accommodate.

In any event, I missed the first day of Wordcamp Raleigh and in so doing, I also missed the very inspiring Dave Moyer, this incredible seventeen year-old young man who knows more about branding at his age than some of his counterparts who are years ahead of him do.   When I heard Dave was speaking today as well, I really wanted to go.  I wanted to learn from him myself.  I wanted to take the knowledge he was going to share with the audience in attendance and share it with my audience here in the hopes of inspiring others.  I’m telling you, this young man knows what he’s talking about.

But, as the storms moved in this morning, as it began pouring buckets outside my window, and as the time continued to fly by, a little voice told me, “Lisa, your church needs you today.” I thought about it and couldn’t quite figure out why.  I wasn’t scheduled to sing or anything and yes, while I usually provide the weekly Welcome, I thought someone else could do it, so why today?  BUT, I didn’t argue with that voice.  Nope.  Instead, I listened and I went to church.

Truly, I don’t know that I was “needed” but I took it a bit differently.  I took it as God needed me there more than he needed me to hear a seventeen year-old tell me all about branding.  And that’s not knocking Mr. Moyer, either.  Rather, it’s just a fact that I believe.  I believe God wanted me to put Him first, before a young man giving a speech, before social media, even before the urge to cuddle up on the couch and watch a chick-flick (that urge was there too!).

The church service itself wasn’t our typical service.  Thanks to the weather, technical difficulties, and a Pastor who was absent (but for good reason; he was attending a graduation this weekend), things didn’t quite go as normal.  BUT, the teaching was still the same and all of our parishioners were still there.  More importantly, God’s message was brought and the message was powerful.

I’m sure Dave’s presentation was fantastic, outstanding even.  I know I can’t wait to go back and read the Twitter streams, the blog posts, and see the videos from this weekend’s Wordcamp Raleigh event.  I look forward to hearing all about it!

I’ve missed a couple of Sunday Services before because of other obligations.  Each were planned in advance so that I could attend a different Service, if possible.  This morning’s plan, though, was more of a spur-of-the-moment decision yesterday.

But… instead I chose to put God before Man this morning anyway.

And I’m glad I did.

Leave a Reply

