Eclectic Me

The following is just me thinking out loud.  No pictures, no links.  Just thoughts.

When I think of the word eclectic what usually comes to mind is a room full of different styles of furniture but a room that flows nonetheless.  I think of some of my friends who are hippy-free spirits with hearts of gold (yes, Wendee, Ashley Sue, and Ginny I’m talking about you fine ladies).  I never thought of me…until today.  No, I don’t have mix & match furniture and I’m definitely not a hippy-free spirit.  BUT, I am eclectic.

I love who I am!  I love the person God made me to be, the person I’ve developed into.  I love that my personality shines in everything I do.  Whether I’m Tweeting, Facebooking, speaking in front of an audience, having coffee with a friend, creating a video, singing for my church music team, or watching the birds fly from branch to branch out on my back deck with a refreshing glass of Chardonnay, I am me and I never claim to be anyone else.

What interests me the most?  faith, the hubster, the pooch, the kitties, my nephews, my family, my friends.

Coffee, tortellini Alfredo from my favorite Italian restaurant in Boston’s North End, crab cakes at The Kill Devil Grill on the OBX.

The beach, music (not necessarily “beach music”), American Idol, Glee, 24.

Football, NFL football, more specifically, the New England Patriots.

Dancing in my living room, singing to the top of my lungs in the car, having the most incredible brainstorms in the shower (that really is the place I get my best ideas).

Pottery, the beauty of it, the creativity of the one who made it.

A good book.  Give me a well-written novel in paperback any day, the kind that makes me feel like I’m a character in it, that makes me smile, laugh, cry, and want to pick up its sequel the minute it’s in paperback.  Yeah, that’s a good book.

Mountain top views in the fall when the leaves have changed to bright oranges, firey reds, and striking yellows.

A walk on fresh new-fallen snow.  Not a blizzard mind you, but a gentle snow fall, maybe even the first one of the season or on Christmas.

Ahhh…Christmas.  My favorite holiday ever!

As I write, I think of all the things that make up me.  I love me.  I love eclectic me.  And I just felt like writing that.

There’s nothing like being happy with who you are in this world.  Even when things may not be going right at that moment or someone’s pissed you off or the cable went out… just thinking about the person that God made you to be, that God molded and shaped you into through various experiences – both the trials AND the triumphs – knowing that you are cared for and loved and worthy to be loved, the whole eclectic being that you are, THAT should put a grin from ear to ear on that cute little face of yours.

It did mine.

Comments
4 Responses to “Eclectic Me”
  1. Amen! Cheers to YOU Lisa! In all of your character, all of your charisma, all of your dynamic charm, your ever-growing interests, and your depth of personality! You are eclectic and beautiful, Love. And I am honored that you think of me as free-spirit too. Hugs and love!

    BIG Summer evening cheers to you!!!

    • lasullivan says:

      A*Sue…you are one of the most ecelectic people I know and boy do I treasure you for being YOU! Thank you for your friendship. It means a lot to me.

      BIG hugs to you! 🙂

  2. Morgan Siem says:

    Oh how I love your eclectic self! I’m with you. There’s nothing like being happy with who you are in this world. I think that the ability to do that / feel that way, though, is 90% an agreement you make with yourself and 10% positive, reinforcing energy from the people around you. That’s why I think it’s so important to surround yourself with positive and supportive people who make you feel good about yourself and help you recognize the beauty in the world. You’re one of those people for many of us, Lisa 🙂 Thanks!

    • lasullivan says:

      Amen, Sista! “10% positive, reinforcing energy from the people around you.” I definitely agree with that. Surround yourself with positive people…and I’m not talking about those that are ALWAYS happy-go-lucky (I’m not knocking them either; I actually applaud them.)…people who I would say exude positivity even in the face of adversity (cuz you know we all have our bad days), you do that and chances are your own positive meter will stay at the top!

      I struggle with that sometimes, probably because I just don’t understand the roller coaster ride that some people choose to take…and I do believe that’s a choice. You choose to either look for the (or be) positive OR you choose to look for (or be) negative. When I see many who ride that roller coaster there’s the part of me that wants to put my arms around them and tell ’em, “it’s all good. It really is.” But, there are other times when the negativity just sucks the energy right out of me and I’m like, “yeah, I can’t deal with that today.” You know what I mean? Anyway, sometimes it’s a struggle.

      And then I hear God kick me in the patooty and say, “Just WHAT do you think you’re doing?” and the struggle is left in the dust. 🙂

      Thank you for being YOU too, Morgan. I feel the same way about you. Maybe that’s why we get along so well! 😉

Leave a Reply

