Practicing Patience

Patience is a virtue.  Sure.  Practicing it, though, can sometimes be tough.

I’ve been spending a few minutes each morning in God’s Word and in prayer.  I find if I start my day on a positive note, then the rest of the day usually remains that way.  My days aren’t always perfect and pleasant.  But, what I can say is that for the most part they tend to be peaceful.

The not so “perfect and pleasant” days require a bit of patience to get through them. I pride myself on being a patient person. I’ll peacefully wait in the long line at the Post Office or for the doctor even if I’ve been waiting 45 minutes to see her.  I’ll happily wait in the 2 hour line to ride the biggest & best roller coaster, and as long as I’ve actually given myself enough time on the roadway, I’ll even wait patiently in traffic.

Lately, my patience feels a bit stretched; not for these things but for that perfect job opportunity.  It’s been over a year since I’ve been laid off.  The job market here in this area seems to be pretty much at a standstill and truthfully, there are days when I’m frustrated.  And THEN I opened my devotional book this morning.  You know what the topic for today is – “A Strategy of Patience”.  God is speaking to me!

Taken from Psalm 37:1-11, the basic gist of the message is simply:

Do what’s right and trust Me.  Regardless of how badly you may seem to be losing, just do My will and leave the outcome to Me.  I’ll make sure that eventually you’ll be the winner. (Our Daily Bread, RBC Ministries 2001)

Even as I read Psalm 37:4

Delight yourself in the Lord and he will give you the desires of your heart.

I thought, “Where have I heard that before?”  It’s the Bible verse that Hollywood actor,  friend, and “client” too (I run his Fan Club) Jason Gerhardt writes underneath his signature every time he signs an autograph.  Once again, God is speaking to me!

Jason and I at General Hospital Fan Club Weekend 2008

The minute I feel I am losing (at the job market), what I have to remember is that I am doing what’s right (searching, applying, networking) and I do trust in Him.  I have to remember that He ultimately has my back.  He knows the direction I am to go in next and he will reveal it in his time.

Patience.  It is a virtue.  I must learn to practice it more when it comes to my job search.  I think today’s lesson was needed and I thank God for that.

Smiles,

Lisa 🙂

Comments
2 Responses to “Practicing Patience”
  1. lasullivan says:

    Thank you, Morgan. What a touching sentiment. Made me smile. 🙂 I do try to live each day setting a positive example. It’s nice to know whatever I’m doing is just that.

    And thanks for the #Lisa4AliciaKeys support too! #AliciaJob – hopefully, it’s mine. 😉

  2. Morgan Siem says:

    Lisa, you’re an inspiration to us all. With your positive thinking, your constant striving and you kind heart, you help us each live each day more fully. Great post. Good luck as you continue your job search. I’m a 100% supporter of #Lisa4AliciaKeys!

Leave a Reply

  • My Business Card

    Lisa on Cardly
