Friendship – It’s What Matters

When I was younger…OK when I was in my teens…I really wanted friends – lots of ’em.  I wanted to be in the “Popular Crowd” though I didn’t quite no why other than that anyone associated with them was, well, popular.  And then one day my Dad said to me –

“Lisa, it’s not the number of friends you have because there will be quite a few people that enter your life, that come and go.  Lots of people.  You don’t call them all ‘friends’.  Your friends are the select few, the ones that will be there for you all the time.  That’s what you want; not the numbers but the friends.”

I remember at the time thinking, “Yeah, right, Dad.  Whatever.  You don’t get it.” Little did I know that he did.

Today, I am proud to admit that my Father was right (Yes, Dad, I just said you were right.  Now, stop smiling!).  I can honestly say that I have eleven wonderful women in my life that I consider friends.  Two ladies live in New England – my best friend from high school, Merideth, and my best friend from college, Erin.  Then there is Wendee, my totally bohemian friend from Houston.

Right here in the Triangle where I have made my home these last five years, that’s where the rest of them are.  First there’s my very talented friend, Miss Rozlyn Sorrell, the woman with the incredible voice & the HUGE heart.  Then, the kindred spirit I have found in my friend Crystal.  Finally, the six absolutely lovely ladies I had the distinct pleasure of working with the last two years at NBC 17 – Ashley Sue, Courtney, Jennifer, Jessica, Jessica, and Teran – four of which spent the evening with me the other night as we celebrated Christmas together.

Jennifer, Ashley Sue, Courtney, Teran, and I

With all of these women, I can whole-heartedly say I experience joy, laughter, sadness, pain, and, most importantly, love with.  Each one is unique and special but most of all, they are all special to me.  I am thankful every single day for their presence in my life and what they bring to it.

So tonight, I reflect on not only the meaning of friendship but the beauty of it.  There’s nothing like “girl” friends.

Thank you, my girls for being who you are and for gracing my life with your presence.  I feel truly blessed!

Smiles,

Lisa 🙂

Comments
9 Responses to “Friendship – It’s What Matters”
  1. lasullivan says:

    Jen…quality vs. quantity. Yep! And I also agree the last few months have brought us closer, an example of a blessing amongst what was the chaos. 🙂

    Wendee…I just adore you! I miss ya but I adore ya. May God continue to bless your life abundantly!

    Teresa…oh WE are glad to have worked with you too. Personally, I miss those homemade goods you used to bring to all the celebrations & the care you put into the details for them as well. You’re SUCH a good party planner! Yes, thank YOU for Facebook. Gotta love that too!

    Friendship – it IS what matters. 🙂

  2. Teresa says:

    It is great to read your blog and especially to see the picture of all you beautiful ladies!!! I really am glad that I had the opportunity to work with all of you. I am so glad that I can at least keep up with all of you on FaceBook. I miss all of you so much!!!

  3. aww that is so sweet Lisa! You are a true friend too and I’m blessed to know ya!! 🙂 I love your new blog header – how cute!!

  4. Jennifer says:

    You rock. Great post….and I couldn’t agree more. I treasure my select few friends even more now. Quality vs. Quantity for sure. I think the last six months or so have brought us ladies even closer……and for that I’m thankful. As you said, we are all so different…but still have fun together. Merry Christmas! I thought about Ashley, Teran and Courtney on Thursday….and it’s hard to imagine I met you when you were seniors at NCSU. Look at you now!

  5. lasullivan says:

    Michelle…I like the way you put that – “the friendships you make become more defined.” Exactly! I never quite understood that really until the last couple of years as these wonderful women have graced my life. Thank you for helping me see that from another angle. 🙂

    Ashley Sue…I fully believe our friendship is one of the reasons I (personally) appreciate Maryann & how she built her team. She looked for people with a variation of skills but who were mostly passionate. Each one of us were/are passionate. We are devoted to whatever makes us tick and yet, as a team of employees we were able to carry that into friendship. I’m so thankful for that! We ARE very blessed. 🙂

  6. You know, that amazed me as we sat together and laughed Thursday night… how lucky we all are that we feel this way about each other… We started working together two and a half years ago… a little longer ago for a few of us… I split ways with you all one year ago professionally. Then you ALL split ways professionally early this Spring.

    Yet, half-a-year-and-more later, we are all choosing to spend time together… laughing, and recording messages to our boss who we miss so much! How many departments in ANY company create that kind of bond?!

    Cheers to us all, and Candace and Doug too, who finish off our awesome department and good times!

    Thanks for the night, Lisa! We all love you!

  7. Michelle says:

    That is really very lovely. 🙂 And your dad was right, definitely! As time goes by and we grow up (not older, just up) the friendships you make become more defined. We are truly blessed when we have those friendships that are clearly meant to be.

Leave a Reply

  • December 2009
    M T W T F S S
    « Nov   Jan »
     123456
    78910111213
    14151617181920
    21222324252627
    28293031  
  • My Business Card

    Lisa on Cardly
