Get Inspired by The Go-Giver

GoGiverI wish I could leave this post as is and my readers will just gravitate to it (the book The Go-Giver) all on their own.  But, I have a feeling they’ll need just a tiny bit of guidance first and so that’s what I’m about to provide – a tiny bit.  Well, I don’t want to give away the goods.  You need to read the book to find out just exactly what that it is.

I would consider the most inspirational book of all-time to be The Bible.  Plain and simple.  I’m a Christian woman.  I don’t hide that fact.  However, there are also plenty secular options with which to choose from as well.  Books like Don’t Sweat the Small Stuff or The Seven Habits of Highly Effective People or one of my favorites, The Purpose Driven Life, all books I have read (and highly recommend) are fantastic pieces of literature that explore the art of self.  Each in their own way lifts you up and makes you want to succeed.

Recently, I was introduced to the Bob Burg and John David Mann penned inspirational reading, The Go-Giver by a new friend of mine who like me, loves to read books that inspire.  I had actually heard people talking about this book for probably a few months now.  It wasn’t until I spoke to my friend, Heather, one of THE most inspirational people I know not only in business & social networking but in life as well, that I decided to dive into the reading myself…and I’m glad I did!

The Go-Giver is a parable of sorts.  It’s a story about a fictional character named “Joe” who’s ambitions nearly get the best of him until he meets with another fictional character by the name of “Pindar” who helps him see that the current path he is on will not lead him to the success he desires.  Throughout the 127 pages of the book, Pindar shows Joe the true keys to success and teaches him that it’s not about what you get, it’s about what you give.  As the inside jacket states –

Joe learns that changing his focus from getting to giving – putting others’ interests first and continually adding value to their lives – ultimately leads to unexpected returns.

And he’s not just talking financial ones either.

The Go-Giver is truly an inspirational story.  In many ways it reminds me of the principles from Jesus’ teachings in The Bible.  For me, The Go-Giver validated what I have already been taught (and hopefully what I’m already doing in my own life) but in such a way that it’s very easy to understand and learn from.

So, whether you are looking for another inspiring read just for the sake of reading a really good book, something that will make you smile, or if you find yourself thinking “Why am I not getting anywhere when I put in all this effort?” I highly suggest you read this book.  It’ll bring you a whole new perspective.  Either way, it’s definitely worth the read…and it makes my list of my Top 10 favorites.

But, that means that I have to delete one already on my list?  Hmmm…maybe I should make it Top 11?  Or just continue on to the Top 20?

Smiles,

Lisa 🙂

Comments
5 Responses to “Get Inspired by The Go-Giver”
  1. fionaashe says:

    Hi Lisa,

    Great blog! I didn’t know about it before, but I have subscribed to it now. I would be delighted to guest-blog about “The Go-Giver” movie. You’re very welcome to use the post from my own blog and I could e-mail you images to accompany it:
    http://fionaashe.wordpress.com/2009/07/04/give-and-you-shall-receive/

    Alternatively, if you’d like something different, please let me know and I’d be happy to provide it. My e-mail address is: “Director@FionaAshe.com”

    HeatherO, thanks also for your support and kind words.

    Warmest wishes to you both,
    Fiona.

  2. HeatherO says:

    Hi Lisa! I happened to see your link on facebook and was anxious to read your post. I’m so happy that you enjoyed the book, and am thrilled to have been the catalyst.
    You are such a giver that you truly belong in the growing “Go-Giver circle”!
    Bob, I’m glad that you found this and met Lisa, she’s a great girl (& no, we’re not related:)
    Fiona, I can’t tell you how thrilled I am that an “irish girl” is directing this movie! 🙂

  3. lasullivan says:

    Bob…oh it was truly a pleasure to have found such a wonderful piece of literature that not only exemplifies the human spirit but embraces what that spirit can do for others, in turn benefiting us all. HeatherO is an amazing lady! I’m so glad to have recently made her acquaintance. 🙂

    Fiona…thank YOU for your kind words too! I’m super excited about the “Go-Giver” film now and I don’t know if you are aware or not but I also write a movie blog called “The REEL Box Office Buzz”. You can find it here – http://lsullivan.myncblogs.com – as part of the MyNC family of blogs, a division of our local NBC affiliate. I have been busy and backed up lately but just shot video of behind the scenes of an indy being filmed here in the Triangle. Can’t wait to get that up on the site! Please take a look at that and if there is any chance you’d like to guest blog about the film or we can collaborate in any other way, let me know. I can be reached at lsullivan@sulcompr.com.

    Thanks again, to both of you for YOUR kind words!

    God Bless you with smiles,
    Lisa 🙂

  4. Bob Burg says:

    WOW – Lisa, thank you so much for your kind review of John David Mann’s and my book. Small world in that HeatherO had referred it to you; she’s an amazing Go-Giver of a human being. 🙂

    Thank you again; you are appreciated!!

    Bob

  5. Fiona Ashe says:

    Hi Lisa,

    Thank you for sharing the Go-Giver philosophy with others. My name is Fiona Ashe and I’m an Irish film director. I’m honoured that the book authors Bob Burg and John David Mann have chosen me to collaborate with them in bringing their bestselling book “The Go-Giver” to the big screen. We are excited about sharing the philosophy of giving to a global film audience. We’ll be sending regular updates on the progress of the movie to fans of its Facebook page. We’d love you to join us there.
    http://www.facebook.com/GoGiverMovie

    Best wishes and please keep in touch,
    Fiona.

Leave a Reply

  • August 2009
    M T W T F S S
    « Jul   Sep »
     12
    3456789
    10111213141516
    17181920212223
    24252627282930
    31  
  • My Business Card

    Lisa on Cardly
