Vacation’s All I Ever Wanted!

“Vacation…have to get away”

Remember that song from the Go-Go’s back in the 80’s?  While the lyrics tell the tale of wanting to vacation alone to forget a love, it’s still a fun song that conjures up all that is summertime – sunshine, surf, beach, vacation.  So, let’s forget the sadness in the lyrics and look toward the sunshiney feeling of summer!

Some people would argue that I’ve been on vacation since being laid off in March.  Though I’m not working a 9-5 job at the moment, I’m certainly working my butt off to find one!  Still, when my family inquired about our vacation plans this summer, well, I couldn’t ignore the possibilities.  I mean, when am I EVER going to get this kind of time again where I don’t have to ask for the time off, though well-deserved it may be?!  So, for the past two weeks my husband and I took a quick jaunt back to our home state of Massachusetts and then played hosts to my family here in town shortly afterwords… and we had a blast!

BettyNI2aBeing in Massachusetts meant a short trip to see everyone we possibly could.  Outside of one side of the family and a few friends, we actually saw almost everyone in a 3-day span, including family from Finland who just happened to be in Beantown the same time I was, family I hadn’t seen in 25 years!

finnishfamilyMy cousin Hannele and her her husband, Pekka, were in the states on a hockey tour with their 16 year-old son.  The tour took them all over the northeast with their final days being spent in Boston.  We planned for lunch at one of my very favorite Italian restaurants, Artu’s, in Boston’s historic Italian North End.  The food was delish as always but the company was superb.  Time was too short but it was good to have had the opportunity to see them.  Made me want to visit Finland soon!

Outside of that, I had the chance to meet my 3 week-old nephew, Conor, anLizNIatSeanPatricksd see my husband’s side of the family as well.  I even fit in a short visit with my friend, Liz, who used to live here in the Triangle but has since moved back to Massachusetts.  I miss her here but look forward to visiting with her there whenever we head back home.

Then, two days upon returning from our jaunt to Mass, my sister, her boys, and my mother all arrived for a week-long stay at our place in the Raleigh JockeysRidge2area as well as two short days on the Outer Banks.  We swam and swam and swam in the pool, spent an afternoon at the museum’s downtown (Raleigh), and then headed to the OBX to frolic in the waves and climb the sand dunes at Jockey’s Ridge State Park.  Time flew by this week as well and as always, I miss them now that they are gone.

Our summer vacation was pretty wonderful.  I’m so glad we took the time to take a break from the stresses of trying to find a job, making sure the bills are paid on time, and overall everyday life.  Sometimes you just need to take a break, right?  We took one.  Hope you are too!  Life is too short not to.

Smiles,

Lisa 🙂

Comments
One Response to “Vacation’s All I Ever Wanted!”
  1. Deirdre Reid says:

    Not having a job (and wanting one) is stressful so, yes, you definitely deserved a good vacation with family to decompress a bit. How lucky you were to have the time to do that!

    I’m going to the beach soon to spend a week with family and friends and even though the laptop and Blackberry will be with me, I will enjoy the forced relaxation too.

    And I love your blog’s new look!

Leave a Reply

  • July 2009
    M T W T F S S
    « Jun   Aug »
     12345
    6789101112
    13141516171819
    20212223242526
    2728293031  
  • My Business Card

    Lisa on Cardly
