What I LOVE About NC…Mayberry!

As of today, my husband and I have lived in North Carolina for exactly 4 1/2 years. In that time, we have pretty much stuck to the Triangle, visiting areas and towns within a 1-2 hrs. drive from home. And there are some pretty wonderful places to visit too – the downtowns of Hillsborough, Wake Forest, Chapel Hill, not to mention Falls Lake, Kerr Lake, Jordan Lake, and the parks & trails around Raleigh, etc. We’ve also spent a long weekend on the Outer Banks (last October). But, in all this time we have never ventured outside that 1-2 hr. radius…until yesterday when a friend and I visited the home of Andy Griffith – Mt. Airy, North Carolina.

I have always wanted to visit the fictional town of “Mayberry.” I grew up watching such classic TV shows as The Andy Griffith Show, Leave It To Beaver, Dick Van Dyke, I Love Lucy, etc. The fictional town of Mayberry from The Andy Griffith Show is actually based on Andy’s hometown of Mt. Airy, North Carolina and after visiting it for a short time yesterday, I can see why. It’s so cute!

The Andy & Opie statue outside the Andy Griffith Playhouse

Mt. Airy is situated right in the Yadkin Valley about 2 1/2 hours northwest of Raleigh, a 1/2 hour north of downtown Winston-Salem, and within minutes from the Virginia border. The town is surrounded by hills, valleys, and mountains (Pilot Mountain State Park and Hanging Rock State Park are right off SR 52 just south of the downtown area). Visit downtown Mt. Airy and you’ll feel like you stepped back in time to an era gone by with a multitude of “mom and pop” stores, numerous malt shops, and even a winery – Old North State Winery is right on Main Street.

My friend Deirdre and I stopped in Barney’s Cafe (you remember Barney from The Andy Griffith Show, right?) for a delicious meal of true cafe-style food, a BLT sandwich and for me, a chocolate shake, the kind that only old-time cafes and diners can make the RIGHT way. We then strolled up and down Main Street for a bit. As fate would have it, we even bumped into former colleagues and friends of mine from Raleigh, Leah and Josh. Apparently, Mt. Airy is the place to be!

Leah, Josh, and Me on Main St. Mt. Airy, NC

For me, it was almost a surreal experience. All I kept thinking about was “I’m in Mayberry!” For those of us who grew up watching the TV shows that depicted a simpler time, being in a town that represented that era was like taking a stroll back in time. I wish my grandparents were still alive so they could come visit me and I could take them to “see Andy”.

After a short while we headed to Round Peak Vineyards, just a 15 minute drive west of downtown. Round Peak was hosting a Summer Wine Festival complete with wine tasting from three nearby vineyards as well as theirs, BBQ, music, and even Corn Hole and Bocce Ball for those that might be interested in some good ole fashioned backyard competition. Deirdre and I sampled Rose, Chardonay, & Red wines along with a Cider and two Sangria combinations. The Sangria was perfect for the hot summer day that it was.

Our friends, Kip Bodnar and Jeff Cohen of North Carolina Wine TV were also on hand sampling wine and recording segments for their online show. They even had their very first autograph requests while we were there. Of course, we had to take a photo of that to remember the moment.

Kip, Jeff, and Fans


There is just so much more to see and do in the Yadkin Valley that we didn’t get to. Had we had more time, I would’ve liked to have hiked a trail at either Pilot Mountain or Hanging Rock. I would’ve liked to have taken in a show at the Andy Griffith Play House. I would’ve liked to have actually shopped in the shops down Main Street or taken a stroll by the actual birth home of Mr. Griffith. Looks like I’ll have to make another trip to Mayberry in the future. I’ll bet the fall and the holidays are great times to visit.

Round Peak Vineyards, Mt. Airy NC

If you’ve ever been to Mt. Airy, what were some of your favorite places to visit? Would love to hear about your experiences as well. Maybe you’ll give me some ideas for our future visit to Mayberry.

Smiles,

Lisa πŸ™‚

Comments
10 Responses to “What I LOVE About NC…Mayberry!”
  1. Lisa Sullivan says:

    Thanks, Scott! Will check out your site for sure.

    Jennifer…I heard Raffaldini was really nice. I must get there! Thinking of a wine country excursion later this summer too. I had SUCH a good time exploring Round Peak that it opened my eyes to the possibilities of NC wine. πŸ™‚

  2. Lisa Sullivan says:

    Thanks, Scott! Will check out your site for sure.

    Jennifer…I heard Raffaldini was really nice. I must get there! Thinking of a wine country excursion later this summer too. I had SUCH a good time exploring Round Peak that it opened my eyes to the possibilities of NC wine. πŸ™‚

  3. Jennifer W. says:

    My friend works at Raffadini Vineyards…beautiful place!

  4. Jennifer W. says:

    My friend works at Raffadini Vineyards…beautiful place!

  5. Scott says:

    You can visit lots of other "Mayberry's" in NC. Check out http://www.InSearchOfMayberry.com!

    Nice post!

  6. Scott says:

    You can visit lots of other "Mayberry's" in NC. Check out http://www.InSearchOfMayberry.com!

    Nice post!

  7. Lisa Sullivan says:

    Oh and you should! And not just the historic downtown either. It's really worth a longer visit than I had for one day. For you, I think it's worth an overnight btwn Chapel Hill and WV. That way you can really enjoy it! πŸ™‚

    Thanks for your comments!

  8. Lisa Sullivan says:

    Oh and you should! And not just the historic downtown either. It's really worth a longer visit than I had for one day. For you, I think it's worth an overnight btwn Chapel Hill and WV. That way you can really enjoy it! πŸ™‚

    Thanks for your comments!

  9. Lisa B @ simply His says:

    My family moved to Chapel Hill from WV, and we used to go to Winston-Salem – then north through Mt. Airy to get home again. I've never taken the time to stop in Mt. Airy – at least not longer than to get gas! Your post makes me want to go for an extended visit πŸ™‚

  10. Lisa B @ simply His says:

    My family moved to Chapel Hill from WV, and we used to go to Winston-Salem – then north through Mt. Airy to get home again. I've never taken the time to stop in Mt. Airy – at least not longer than to get gas! Your post makes me want to go for an extended visit πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

  • My Business Card

    Lisa on Cardly
