Feeling a Bit Inadequate

Ever feel stupid? I mean, you know you are a smart cookie when it comes to the things you’ve been trained in or experiences you have had or expertise you have gained but when it comes to something completely new, you need a little added support to understand and make it work. Yeah, you know what I’m talking about, don’t you?

Well, for the last couple of weeks, I have been putting off blogging here because I was looking forward to transferring my blog over to a WordPress blog, a stand alone URL with all the bells and whistles that come with WordPress. I waited until I attended a conference this past weekend in Durham appropriately entitled “WordCamp RDU“, a conference-type event totally devoted to all things WordPress. While I learned A LOT and enjoyed the day, I still walked away feeling a bit…inadequate.

What I had hoped to do was secure the URL I wanted and begin to set up my Blog that day. Now, that was available through a couple of local hosting companies that were there that day but I saw two things wrong with that (1) – I’d have to lock in to one of those companies vs a national company like Go Daddy and (2) – I was hoping for a step-by-step process in a conference session rather than having to visit with one of the companies independently at their booth. While that works for some people, for me it doesn’t. I would’ve felt very uncomfortable taking up so much of their time individually when there were over 150 people in attendance and some of those folks wanted the same thing, some of those folks that are much more tech savvy than I am. That’s not to say that WordCamp RDU was a waste of time. Far from it! It was a REALLY GOOD conference and I can’t wait until next year because I’m hoping by then, I will be a self-proclaimed WordPress expert. πŸ™‚

So, today, I blog about wanting to get started transferring my blog over to a much better system for what I want to do but am stuck trying to figure out how to do that on my own. Thus, I am back to square one and will post another post very soon about a much more interesting topic. Just wanted to give my readers a reason as to WHY I haven’t been around of late. I’ll keep blogging here until I get the help I need.

So, with that, time to move on to that other post…

Smiles,

Lisa πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

  • My Business Card

    Lisa on Cardly
