What I LOVE About….Raleigh

I’m going to start a new category today called “What I LOVE About…” and there is no pattern, no method to the madness, nothing special about it. It’s just a category that I thought would be fun to write about. I’ve been thinking a lot lately about what it is that I love about Raleigh and given all the attention it has gotten on various lists (i.e. Forbes, Kiplinger, etc.) recently as well, I thought it would be appropriate to start this category off with What I LOVE about…Raleigh.

Here let me make a list (in no particular order either) –

  • The weather and air quality.
  • Location, Location, Location!
  • The people.
  • The culture.
  • The numerous opportunities for growth.
  • The topography.
  • The “laid back feel”.

I absolutely love the climate here. Sure Raleigh has its bouts with humidity in the summer and the weather can get cold in the winter (sometimes it might even snow!) but ultimately, I have never lived in such a weather-perfect location as this, at least it is for me. In Raleigh, you can experience all four seasons but I especially love the spring and fall. The leaves change to amazingly brilliant colors in the fall while in spring, the flowerbeds alongside the major highways bloom to exceptional beauty…and that’s rare too. Until I moved here, I had never seen anything like it.

Raleigh’s location being just a couple of hours to the beaches to the east, a bit longer to the mountains in the west, a day’s drive to Florida or New England, once again – perfect. I love that if I want to hit the warm waters of the North Carolina Atlantic Coast for the weekend, I can or if I’m in the mood for cozying up to a fireplace in a log cabin with a view, I’m just a few hours away to the Blue Ridge or Great Smoky Mountains.

I love the people here too. Whether they are born and bred North Carolinians (or Raleigh-ites) or are also a transplant like me, it seems as though being friendly, hospitable, caring, & kind is of the norm rather than the exception. There is not a single person I have met that I could say needs a serious attitude adjustment. Not one. Now, there are plenty of opinionated people here too. Don’t get me wrong. In fact, I may be one of them! But, the overall friendliness of the community transcends anything else. It’s wonderful to live in a place that’s so welcoming and contributes to that “laid back feel”.

Raleigh has a lot more culture than it’s sometimes given credit for. Museums like the NC Museum of Art, the NC Museum of Natural Sciences, NC Museum of History, Marbles Kids Museum, or even the suburban museums (like the Tobacco Farm Life Museum in Johnston County) are great resources for learning about North Carolina culture. Let’s not forget the local music scene, the numerous festivals that take place downtown throughout the year, and even the North Carolina State Fair takes place every October right here at the State Fair Grounds. On top of all that, the Raleigh-Durham-Chapel Hill area (commonly referred to as The Triangle) is also a mecca for the filming and production of Hollywood or Independent films too. Between museums, local music, festivals, fairs, and filming Raleigh has a whole lot going on!

Add to all this the existence of Research Triangle Park, the many MAJOR corporations and businesses that have headquarters here (i.e. Butterball in Garner, Royal Bank of Canada’s US Headquarters in their new building downtown), as well as the growing Real Estate market it’s no wonder more and more people are moving into the Triangle every year.

But, probably my absolute favorite part of living in Raleigh is the topography. It’s got hills, valleys, trees, and several lakes all within a few minutes drive of each other. The park and trail system is really good and with constant improvements, it’s getting better. Raleigh is one of THE most beautiful places I have ever lived!

As I said earlier, Raleigh has made several “top lists” lately –

Forbes – Best Places for Business & Careers (ranked #1)
Forbes – Ten Cities Where Americans are Relocating (ranked #1)
AllBusiness.com – Best Metros for Women Entrepreneurs (ranked #1)
Klipinger – 2008 Best Best Cities (ranked #2)

It’s no wonder either! Raleigh is an up-and-coming area – a HOT market for business, a GREAT place to raise a family, and just a FABULOUS place to live.

For all these reasons and more, this is What I LOVE About…Raleigh.

Smiles,

Lisa 🙂

Comments
2 Responses to “What I LOVE About….Raleigh”
  1. Kim Adamof says:

    I relocated here 7 years ago from Philly and wouldn't move back for all the reasons you mentioned. Thanks for the post. I love the weather and the people the MOST!!

  2. Kim Adamof says:

    I relocated here 7 years ago from Philly and wouldn't move back for all the reasons you mentioned. Thanks for the post. I love the weather and the people the MOST!!

Leave a Reply

  • My Business Card

    Lisa on Cardly
