NBC Goes Inside the White House With Obama


This is THE coolest thing I think I have seen a news organization do when it comes to using social media tools, specifically Twitter.

For the last couple of hours, I have been transfixed following @InsideObamaWH, the Twitter feed from NBC producers and crew working on a special report with Brian Williams. Anything from M&Ms in their very own “White House” boxes to the description of digital picture frames in the West Wing to the President telling Brian Williams that he “just saw the girls off to school and got a work out in”, this is fascinating stuff! Well, at least it is for me.

I’m not sure if it’s fascinating because I used to work for our NBC affiliate and got a glimpse of life as a reporter or if it’s the fact that it’s all coming from behind the scenes at the White House, a “secret” place to the common citizen, but I tell ya what, I’m glued to Twitter, Tweetdeck, Twitterfox, you name it.

Even if you’ve never seen Twitter, don’t understand what the appeal is or how to use it or whatever, still check it out. It’s mesmerizing!

Can’t wait for the Special now. In a sense, I feel like I’m working alongside the producers and crew and the finished product will be a culmination of the effort I put into it even if all I’m doing is “following” them.

Smiles,

Lisa πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

