American Idol Upset?

The entire American-Idol-lovin’-country just got the shock of their lives. Kris fans. Adam fans. Doesn’t matter. If you are a true fan of this season, of the kind of talent that it was made of, if you are a true fan of music, of performance regardless of being a fan of either of the top two talented men that went for the coveted prize, then you were just as shocked as anyone else in America tonight when Kris Allen’s name was called as the Season 8 winner of American Idol. I know I was.

I wrote in my only post about American Idol Season 8 just a couple of days ago that I believed that Adam would win because of that man’s unbelievable talent. What I didn’t take into account, and I truly believe that this was the deciding factor, those that voted for Danny most likely voted for Kris resulting in the upset that we saw tonight.

I also wrote in that very same post that I hoped for Kris’ win because I believe it would boost his career and because I believe that Adam will do just fine. (He has to. If he doesn’t, there’s a serious problem with that…or rather, I have a serious problem with that.)

For the first time in eight seasons, I can honestly say that I have mixed emotions about the outcome. I have been voting for Kris (or Allison) from Day 1. They were my two top contenders outside of Adam. Adam is in a league of his own…and I’ve been saying that since Day One as well.

Tonight when Kris’ name was called, I couldn’t believe it and felt that as much as I had hoped he would win, I truly felt that the votes would’ve led to Adam’s win and for a moment, I was disappointed. Yet, I was happy for Kris…but sad for Adam. Yet, as I said a moment ago, I know Adam will do just fine.

This is one American Idol win I truly wish there could’ve been a tie for the prize because in my humble opinion they both deserved to be named the next American Idol.

I keep repeating this but perhaps it’s the best way to describe it. Adam…without question is in a league of his own. His stage presence is unmatched. He has the confidence, the vocal chops, the technical prowess to make a song his own. He possesses every single quality of a truly talented performer….but so does Kris. The difference is Kris grew with this show. He grew confidence, he grew in stage presence, he grew vocally, he grew technically. He just kept on growing. His talent lies not only in his voice but in the fact that he can play instruments as well. Then, if you add his ability to change up a song to make it his own as well, you can’t deny that he’s got amazing talent albeit slightly different than Adam’s.

Both of these guys deserved to be in the finals. But, one of them had to win. I am happy for Kris. I really am. This is what I had hoped for him but even I think in this case, the winner should’ve been the other guy.

And I know I’m not far off here. This is also the first season that the theater didn’t erupt in loud applause as soon as the name was called. Even the other contestants seemed stunned. Simon obviously was as were Randy and Kara (Paula, I really couldn’t tell what she was thinking).

Why couldn’t there have been a tie for the winners? Why? (Don’t answer that. This is just how I feel, my humble opinion.)

WOW! What an incredible season. SUCH talent. I really enjoyed this year’s journey and I hope next year, it can live up to this one. It’s going to be a challenge to find that many talented people again.

Hooooray for the Top 13. HOOOORAY for the Top Four – Allison, Danny, Kris, and Adam. Did you get your tickets yet for the tour? I can’t wait!

Smiles,

Lisa πŸ™‚

Comments
6 Responses to “American Idol Upset?”
  1. Lisa Sullivan says:

    Not Plain…I completely agree with you. I loved the Cindi Lauper performance but then again, I grew up in the 80’s so I love anything that has to do with 80’s music. πŸ™‚ What gave me a little chuckle – Allison and Cindi were a fab combo on stage even though Allison was born AFTER Cindi hit her chart high in the 80’s!

    And I totally agree that girl also has a level of talent that is unmatched, which is why I voted for her throughout the competition. She is going to rock like nobody’s business!

    Troy…first, no need to warn us for “PC” commentary. That’s the beauty of the Freedom of Speech! I have to agree with you in the sense that Adam’s sexuality was most likely a factor in the overall outcome of the vote, probably along with the “cuteness” of Kris. And that’s not to belittle him for being a good looking guy either. I think he’s cute too!

    To me, it’s sad but true that Adam’s sexuality played a factor in this. I don’t want this to get into a political debate of the right or wrong of how someone chooses to live their life. What I will say is that AI is a singing competition. All other factor’s aside, it’s about talent and for me (now I sound like Randy!), that’s the only factor that should be judged. Bottom line. What happens after the fact is up to the American people and whether or not albums will be sold. But for the purposes of the competition, it must always remain about the talent and nothing more. And THAT’S my humble opinion that I’m not warning you about either. πŸ™‚

    Great responses, Guys! Keep ’em coming!!

  2. Lisa Sullivan says:

    Not Plain…I completely agree with you. I loved the Cindi Lauper performance but then again, I grew up in the 80’s so I love anything that has to do with 80’s music. πŸ™‚ What gave me a little chuckle – Allison and Cindi were a fab combo on stage even though Allison was born AFTER Cindi hit her chart high in the 80’s!

    And I totally agree that girl also has a level of talent that is unmatched, which is why I voted for her throughout the competition. She is going to rock like nobody’s business!

    Troy…first, no need to warn us for “PC” commentary. That’s the beauty of the Freedom of Speech! I have to agree with you in the sense that Adam’s sexuality was most likely a factor in the overall outcome of the vote, probably along with the “cuteness” of Kris. And that’s not to belittle him for being a good looking guy either. I think he’s cute too!

    To me, it’s sad but true that Adam’s sexuality played a factor in this. I don’t want this to get into a political debate of the right or wrong of how someone chooses to live their life. What I will say is that AI is a singing competition. All other factor’s aside, it’s about talent and for me (now I sound like Randy!), that’s the only factor that should be judged. Bottom line. What happens after the fact is up to the American people and whether or not albums will be sold. But for the purposes of the competition, it must always remain about the talent and nothing more. And THAT’S my humble opinion that I’m not warning you about either. πŸ™‚

    Great responses, Guys! Keep ’em coming!!

  3. troylaplante says:

    Warning: non-PC comments follow. Perhaps one of the reasons Kris got a lot of support and won could be the ethics factor. Kris, Danny, and Michael are all three professing Christians and involved in their respective church’s music program. Adam, though talented, is an “out of the closet” homosexual. With such a fan base in place for Danny, I can see why people would have flocked to Kris in the vote. Kris is “the boy next door” type whereas Adam creeps some people out. Simon had it right one night when he said that Adam looked like he could have been something out of the “Rocky Horror Picture Show”. I say this as one who at first recognized and liked Adam. When his lifestyle became public knowledge, my support dwindled quickly. That and the fact that he had to do a rock scream in just about every song he did. That started to get old for me. He had some great songs and choices a few months ago and I enjoyed them. Kris started coming on strong at the end, sort of like Shawn Johnson on “Dancing With the Stars”.

  4. troylaplante says:

    Warning: non-PC comments follow. Perhaps one of the reasons Kris got a lot of support and won could be the ethics factor. Kris, Danny, and Michael are all three professing Christians and involved in their respective church’s music program. Adam, though talented, is an “out of the closet” homosexual. With such a fan base in place for Danny, I can see why people would have flocked to Kris in the vote. Kris is “the boy next door” type whereas Adam creeps some people out. Simon had it right one night when he said that Adam looked like he could have been something out of the “Rocky Horror Picture Show”. I say this as one who at first recognized and liked Adam. When his lifestyle became public knowledge, my support dwindled quickly. That and the fact that he had to do a rock scream in just about every song he did. That started to get old for me. He had some great songs and choices a few months ago and I enjoyed them. Kris started coming on strong at the end, sort of like Shawn Johnson on “Dancing With the Stars”.

  5. Not Plain says:

    We all know that all four of the last ones standing will have contracts. Most awesome part of the show? Allison and Cyndi Lauper. AMAZING. Their talents are matched…well maybe Allison still has room to grow, but in their vocal jam near the end…synchronicity.

    IMHO…Allison is the new star, the others could have gone out on their own and done well, but Allison….she will live her dream!

  6. Not Plain says:

    We all know that all four of the last ones standing will have contracts. Most awesome part of the show? Allison and Cyndi Lauper. AMAZING. Their talents are matched…well maybe Allison still has room to grow, but in their vocal jam near the end…synchronicity.

    IMHO…Allison is the new star, the others could have gone out on their own and done well, but Allison….she will live her dream!

Leave a Reply

  • My Business Card

    Lisa on Cardly
