It’s Graduation Time!

So…it’s Graduation Weekend here in Raleigh. First up, NC State knocked out a ceremony yesterday with over 4,000 graduates. Today, it’s all blue – Duke and UNC release all of their graduates (another few thousand) into the unemployed abyss that is North Carolina. Great. Now I have more competition than I had when I was laid off. But, I’m excited for all of them. Really.

“it stood for something. It meant that no matter what I did next, what job I obtained, where I went, I had a college degree and that in and of itself will take me places

I remember when I graduated college back in 1992, the feeling of survival, accomplishment, sadness (college was cool), and of course the ever so present, “Oh crap! What’s next?” I was lucky, though. I found a job a couple of months later and while it wasn’t a job in my chosen field of study, it was a job nonethelesss, and one that I also met the man who is now my husband at. So, it was all good.

Still, graduation (from college) ranks right up there as one of the highlights of my life. I was the first grandchild in my family to graduate. That’s a memorable fact. But, mostly, it stood for something. It meant that no matter what I did next, what job I obtained, where I went, I had a college degree and that in and of itself will take me places. I trained in education and I taught for a while but I’ve moved beyond that and am excelling at additional skill sets and talents that I believe were cultivated in some way shape or form through my college education. I wish the same for today’s graduates.

To all those graduating this weekend, this spring even, may you realize that what you are taking with you is a vast array of knowledge that no matter where life takes you, will only help you to grow and prosper in whatever comes next, even if it’s not quite the direction you thought you should be in.

CONGRATULATIONS GRADUATES!

Now, go and make something of yourselves, will ya? Oh…and stay out of my way while you’re doing that.

Just kidding!

Smiles,

Lisa πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

  • My Business Card

    Lisa on Cardly
