VACATION!

OK, so I was laid off one month ago. What did I do? I could have wallowed in self-pity holed up somewhere by myself drinking margaritas until doomsday…but I didn’t. I spent two weeks revising my resume, making connections, updating my Linked In and other social media profiles, etc. Then, I went on a much needed and a well-deserved vacation. First stop, the Great Smoky Mountains with one side of the family.

The view from the mountain road. April 2009

Have you ever been? If you haven’t, you are missing out! The natural beauty, the serenity, the gorgeous weather, the golf, the wildlife, you name it, it has everything…even Dollywood. Well, I didn’t go to Dolly’s theme park but I did however, see the back end of it high up off the first tee at the Gatlinburg Golf Course. Sweet course with stunning views! A little difficult for my very elementary ability but we had fun nonetheless.

The hubby and I went to Gatlinburg, Tennessee with my father and step-mother. Just the four of us. We stayed in this absolutely gorgeous…and comfy…vacation home complete with two hot tubs and a billiards table. During the day, we explored the Smokies, played golf, shopped in the Arts & Crafts community. At night we either enjoyed dining in with some truly scrumptious cooking by either my Dad or the Hubster or we headed out to a local establishment to sample local fare. Not a disappointing meal was had. We all probably gained 5lbs in one week! It was truly one of the best vacations I’ve ever taken.

Then, it was off to my home state of Massachusetts for five days to both attend my Sister-In-Law’s baby shower (baby is due in June) or just visit with the other side of the family. I think I brought the summer weather with me too. Each day was just gorgeous! We had lots of laughter, good food, and fun at the Shower. Then, for a few days I stayed with my beautiful sister and her family. My nephews are awesome but I’m not biased or anything. Between fencing, baseball practice, soccer practice, blowing bubbles, playing Star Wars or Corn Hole (only mid-westerners and southerners know what that is), I had a blast!

Now, it’s back to reality. Must….get….a….job….a GOOD one! I will not settle. I know my skills and my worth. I believe God will point me in the right direction when the time is right but I must do my part to at least move in “a” direction, right? I’m ready, so hit me! Who’s got a job for me out there?

In the meantime, I keep plugging away at my marketing skills, video editing, networking, what have you.

Life is good! I just had a vacation. I can’t complain.

Smiles,

Lisa πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

