Turning Lemons Into Lemonade

What started out as a seemingly…pardon my french…crappy… week actually turned into a pretty good one. I think many of us who felt the pinch on Monday, capitalized on what we are blessed with and made the most of the situation. In other words, we turned lemons into lemonade.

In talking to several of my former colleagues throughout the week, conversations ranged from getting all necessary doctor’s appointments taken care of to updating their Linked In profiles to requesting (and receiving) countless recommendations to filing for unemployment to even starting freelance work. It was in every sense of the word a busy BUT a productive week!

For me, I fully believe God had his hand in everything I touched. Whether it was an email from a contact asking if there was anything they could do (or offering to talk freelance work with me) or it was cleaning out my old desk or countless other tasks that had to be accomplished this first week, I trust that God was watching over me through it all.

I received an email today from a gentleman I admire, that I’m happy to work with, and even happier to call friend, Jason Gerhardt. In it, he provided a scripture passage that hit home with regards to how deep faith can be. Jason shared Mark 4:35-41, “Jesus calms the storm”, and then he said something equally as powerful as the verse –

Really picture what might have been going on in the scene before, during, and after what we are told.

I read the passage and then I did as he suggested. Boy, how powerful is the Word of God, huh?! And it reminded me that while I entered into a pretty nasty storm when the week began, it was my trust in God (my faith) that calmed me and brought me through it.

I hope that for many of my colleagues this week, they experienced the same thing. Many were able to turn lemons into lemonade or at least they began the process. That’s positive. That’s uplifting. And that’s a GOOD way to end the week.

Smiles,

Lisa 🙂

Comments
4 Responses to “Turning Lemons Into Lemonade”
  1. Megha says:

    yea…actions+faith, Instead of sulking down, you chose to stand up and start searching..Its true that God helps who help themselves…

  2. Megha says:

    yea…actions+faith, Instead of sulking down, you chose to stand up and start searching..Its true that God helps who help themselves…

  3. Anonymous says:

    good stuff

  4. Anonymous says:

    good stuff

Leave a Reply

  • April 2009
    M T W T F S S
    « Mar   May »
     12345
    6789101112
    13141516171819
    20212223242526
    27282930  
  • My Business Card

    Lisa on Cardly
