Is Today the First Day of the BEST of My Life?

The CCL Team with Hurricanes Mascot, Stormy. March 2009.

I find it ironic that yesterday marked the 1 year and 8 month anniversary of my first day at NBC 17, our local NBC affiliate in Raleigh… and my last day of employment with the company all at the same time. I was among the 30 or so employees that were sadly laid off thanks in large part to this failing economy.

Corporate downsizing. You hear the term often but it doesn’t hit home until it hits home. Yesterday it hit and it hit like a sudden avalanche.

Walking into “the station”, you couldn’t hear a pin drop. The tension was palpable. We all knew something was up and for some of us, we knew it had to do with us. Just about 45 minutes after getting there, the announcement was made and the tears began to flow. For some it was surreal. For others, like myself, it was a “here I go again” series of moments. No matter if it was your first time or if you have been through it before, it’s never easy. For me it was my fourth time in my professional career being laid off (The last time it happened to me was in the mid-90’s.). Still, it’s never easy. But, there is always hope in the face of adversity.

Searching scripture this morning seemed like a natural transition for what comes next and so I found the perfect passage to describe the hope that begins today – the First Day of the BEST of My Life. It comes from Romans 4:18-21 and Romans 5:2-4. It talks about Abraham’s justification through his faith in God in that:

Against all hope, Abraham in hope believed and so became the father of many nations, just as it had been said to him, ‘So shall your offspring be’. Without weakening in his faith, he faced the fact that his body was as good as dead – since he was about a hundred years old – and that Sarah’s womb was also dead. Yet he did not waver through unbelief regarding the promise of God, but was strengthened in his faith and gave Glory to God being fully persuaded that God had the power to do what he had promised. (Romans 4:8-21, emphasis mine)

…And we rejoice in the hope of the glory of God. Not only so, but we also rejoice in our sufferings, because we know that suffering produces perseverance; perseverance, character; and character, hope. (Romans 5:2-4, emphasis mine)

You see, while Abraham and Sarah wanted a child, they could’ve easily given up hope in their old age to see the dream come to fruition. Instead, they relied on the power of their faith and that of God in and of himself never wavering but always believing. They persevered which ultimately brought them hope.The four original CCL Team on the old set. Summer 2007.

My situation is no different. I could easily take the somber route, the “oh crap, what am I going to do now?” route, or I could persevere, rely on my faith in God that he has the direction for me, the next piece to my life’s puzzle, and be hopeful that all will work itself out. I choose the latter.The complete CCL Team on the new set. January 2008.

The way I see it, I’m walking away from an incredible experience having worked as a Community Content Liaison for NBC 17 with skills that I never would’ve developed (or taken the time to develop) had I not had the opportunity that I had been given. I have marketable skills. I am marketable. God will lead me to where I need to go next because he has given me these gifts which I have cultivated.

I have faith but above all, I have hope.

Smiles,

Lisa πŸ™‚

Comments
6 Responses to “Is Today the First Day of the BEST of My Life?”
  1. Ashley Sue Allen says:

    Wow… these photos are an amazing walk through an amazing two year journey for the CCL department (and a longer journey for our amazing managers and GM)… What a blessed ride we have been on…

    I like your message… That’s what this all is… The first day of the Best of our Lives. No one knows exactly where each of us will land, but from the ashes, each will rise and find surprise and joy in the next chapters.

    You are a blessed friend of mine, and an honor to know and love, Lisa.

    I miss you. πŸ™‚ I miss you ALL. πŸ™‚

    Cheers to our family.

  2. Ashley Sue Allen says:

    Wow… these photos are an amazing walk through an amazing two year journey for the CCL department (and a longer journey for our amazing managers and GM)… What a blessed ride we have been on…

    I like your message… That’s what this all is… The first day of the Best of our Lives. No one knows exactly where each of us will land, but from the ashes, each will rise and find surprise and joy in the next chapters.

    You are a blessed friend of mine, and an honor to know and love, Lisa.

    I miss you. πŸ™‚ I miss you ALL. πŸ™‚

    Cheers to our family.

  3. Jennifer says:

    Lisa – This is a great post. Those photos are great memories. For me, after being there for 5 years…4 Tree of Lights, 5 Health and Fitness events, 6 Shredding events and a multitude of other experiences, including my own marriage, it was such a great journey and I grew so much professionally and personally. I am so happy that we got to share the opportunities together……

  4. Jennifer says:

    Lisa – This is a great post. Those photos are great memories. For me, after being there for 5 years…4 Tree of Lights, 5 Health and Fitness events, 6 Shredding events and a multitude of other experiences, including my own marriage, it was such a great journey and I grew so much professionally and personally. I am so happy that we got to share the opportunities together……

  5. Donald says:

    Lisa,
    You have a beautiful outlook. Being on vacation, I too did my best to focus where I should focus. My wife helped steer me that way throughout the day! We have one source and that source will always provide. I know you are steady and grounded with that thought. Hold strong to it… and most of all keep that great smile glowing. You have so much energy… I know others will glow from you as well.
    Please email or call me if I can help in any way.
    Best,
    Donald

  6. Donald says:

    Lisa,
    You have a beautiful outlook. Being on vacation, I too did my best to focus where I should focus. My wife helped steer me that way throughout the day! We have one source and that source will always provide. I know you are steady and grounded with that thought. Hold strong to it… and most of all keep that great smile glowing. You have so much energy… I know others will glow from you as well.
    Please email or call me if I can help in any way.
    Best,
    Donald

Leave a Reply

  • March 2009
    M T W T F S S
    « Feb   Apr »
     1
    2345678
    9101112131415
    16171819202122
    23242526272829
    3031  
  • My Business Card

    Lisa on Cardly
