Getting Fit and Counting My Blessings

Flowers in bloom. Williamsburg 2007

It’s a rainy weekend in Raleigh. Temps yesterday hit in the upper 60’s. For a short while it felt as though Spring were on its way. Even the scent of the impending rain to come reminded me of a spring storm.

Today, however, the air is a bit chillier and they’re talking snow by Monday morning. The flip-flopping of weather patterns always gets to me. It does a number on my allergies, body temperature, and to a certain extent, even my spirit. One moment I’m thinking spring is just around the corner… like…TOMORROW. The next, I’m thinking perhaps I was thinking too positively. Oh well.

Despite the rainy weather I’m happy to report that earlier this morning I hit the gym for the fourth time this week. I’m so proud of myself! That’s an accomplishment for me because as y’all know, I loathe going to the gym. To me, it’s work; not fun. Dancing is fun. I’d love to pick up a really invigorating dance class but at the same time, I’d like to look good in the dance attire that goes with. So, for now, I’ll just keep plugging away on the treadmill, eliptical, and weights, get a fab bod, and pick up dance next fall. Anyone want to join me for cha-cha lessons?

The last few weeks have been kinda strange. The economy just sucks. It’s the lowest I have ever seen it but at the same time, the circumstances we are currently in cause us all to reflect on just exactly how we spend (and save) our money. So, while it looks bleak right now, perhaps we are actually on the road to recovery…on a national, state, and personal level.

For me personally, my husband and I haven’t gone out for dinner in weeks. In fact, he’s been my personal chef so I can’t complain. πŸ™‚ We’re eating healthier (a goal of mine this year). I love the smell of the aromas that come from the kitchen as I walk through the door each night. YUM!

I only wish I could go shopping…in a mall…like the rest of the world. Can’t right now. But, that’s ok. I’m looking forward to things picking up again in the second half of the year. Heck – I’m looking forward to a tax return!

With a down ecomony inevitably comes other changes that we weren’t expecting. All of us at my station and throughout the company are on a 10-day furlough this year. That means 10 extra days of vacation unpaid. Translation – a reduction in pay by 3.8% (I think). However, I can’t complain. I get 10 extra days to do with as I wish and I still have a job so all is not lost.

I don’t know. I just got to thinking about things this morning, reflecting on how blessed I am despite the gloominess that surrounds me. Things could be worse. A LOT worse, right?

Smiles,

Lisa πŸ™‚

Comments
4 Responses to “Getting Fit and Counting My Blessings”
  1. Lisa Sullivan says:

    Haha! Yeah, the hubby…I have to admit…CAN cook and right now, we need that. My schedule is so dang crazy that while some people find peace in making dinner, I find it stressful and yet another thing to do so when he cooks, I take notice!

    Oh I have to look at our collective current situation as optimistic cuz you’re right, it’s so easy to take the other road and I would personally rather be thankful and content than depressed and angry.

    Thanks, Jason, for your insight too!

  2. Lisa Sullivan says:

    Haha! Yeah, the hubby…I have to admit…CAN cook and right now, we need that. My schedule is so dang crazy that while some people find peace in making dinner, I find it stressful and yet another thing to do so when he cooks, I take notice!

    Oh I have to look at our collective current situation as optimistic cuz you’re right, it’s so easy to take the other road and I would personally rather be thankful and content than depressed and angry.

    Thanks, Jason, for your insight too!

  3. Jason K says:

    It’s great that you’re able to see everything with an optimistic point-of-view. It’s really easy to get down in the dumps about the whole situation, we just gotta keep in mind that it’s not about the money, life is about relationships, and those can prosper no matter the state of the economy.

    I’m jealous of your having a spouse that can cook. I need to find me one of those πŸ˜›

  4. Jason K says:

    It’s great that you’re able to see everything with an optimistic point-of-view. It’s really easy to get down in the dumps about the whole situation, we just gotta keep in mind that it’s not about the money, life is about relationships, and those can prosper no matter the state of the economy.

    I’m jealous of your having a spouse that can cook. I need to find me one of those πŸ˜›

Leave a Reply

  • February 2009
    M T W T F S S
    « Jan   Mar »
     1
    2345678
    9101112131415
    16171819202122
    232425262728  
  • My Business Card

    Lisa on Cardly
