A Week of Historic Moments and Celebrations

While this past Monday was a holiday for most people (Martin Luther King, Jr. Day), being in the media business we don’t get all the holidays everyone else gets. BUT, our particular station allowed us to celebrate MLK by volunteering some of our workday at one of our sponsored events. I chose to help paint a mural at the YWCA, downtown Raleigh. I love that! I love painting murals and being a part of a group effort that gives back to the community. It’s so rewarding, invigorating, and refreshing! Totally worth the time.

Tuesday rolled around and while the rest of the country was embracing the inauguration of our 44th President, Barak Obama, we here in the Triangle were in the midst of our BIGGEST snow storm in a few years, at least since I’ve lived here anyway.
I had the dubious assignment of trekking out in the white stuff to find folks engaged in watching the inauguration on television and videotaping the spirit of the moment. This was not an easy task but I found some individuals excited about the hope that Obama brings and not afraid to show me on camera. Very cool!

As the week wound down, I decided to give myself some “me time” to celebrate my 40th Birthday. Remember I said I was going to do something different for myself each month leading up to the BIG day? Saturday, I chose to partake in a one-hour totally relaxing facial. I was poked and prodded (which doesn’t sound relaxing but it’s a necessary step) and then soothed and rubbed down to the relaxing music of Enya (and whatever else was playing). I walked out of there feeling refreshed and wanting to take a nap, which I promptly did about two hours later. I love facials! They are so worth it.

A week of historic moments and celebrations. A good week.

Smiles,

Lisa πŸ™‚
Comments
2 Responses to “A Week of Historic Moments and Celebrations”
  1. paris parfait says:

    YEA! Such a wonderful time in our history! It’s nice to be able to celebrate for a change, isn’t it? And good for you for indulging in a little pampering – you deserve it!

  2. paris parfait says:

    YEA! Such a wonderful time in our history! It’s nice to be able to celebrate for a change, isn’t it? And good for you for indulging in a little pampering – you deserve it!

Leave a Reply

  • January 2009
    M T W T F S S
    « Dec   Feb »
     1234
    567891011
    12131415161718
    19202122232425
    262728293031  
  • My Business Card

    Lisa on Cardly
