Taking Time

What exactly do I mean by that and where do I want to go with this post? I’m not quite sure and this may turn out to be a myriad of thoughts all rolled into one but I’m hoping it will make some semblance of sense.

The other day I took “my time” at my full-time job. That doesn’t mean I was slow in producing good works or that I took my time to get to where I needed to go. Rather, just the opposite. Some weeks I am so busy, I have so much I want to accomplish, or so many places to go and its not all going to necessarily take place Monday-Friday either. Sometimes, there are opportunities that go beyond the normal work week that make sense for me to do my job well. But, will I work 50 or 60 hours that week, oh hell no! If I plan my time wisely, I can still accomplish all that I need to within a 40 hour work week.

So, knowing that I planned to work a long day yesterday and that I must attend a station-hosted event today while also attending several festivals going on in my territory just today alone, I decided that on Thursday afternoon I was going to “take my time”, time to rest to enjoy the afternoon… and even to do a bit of laundry. I walked my doggie, watched some shows I had on DVR to catch up on and caught my favorite Soap Opera (General Hospital) all the while relaxing in my sweatpants and t-shirt with softly scented candles burning around the house. It was fabulous!

By the time yesterday’s work day ended, I knew that I had accomplished what I needed to for a productive work week. My numbers for my weekly report were the highest they have ever been and by attending a couple of events yesterday I had made important connections that will help in the very near future (meetings I will set up next week). All because I used my time wisely.

I am finally in a position to make what I do on a daily basis what I had hoped this job would turn out to be. I am finally able to plan my time in my territory based on research I have done and the people I have already connected with. I am successful at what I do because I can finally do it my way, the way that I originally thought this job should be. All I needed was someone to trust that I knew what I was doing and didn’t question how or when I do it in. Thank goodness that person sees the fruits of my labor and lets me do it the way I need to do it.

Anyway, I got off course for a second there. My point, I took “my time” this week and it felt great!

Everyone should take time. Time off, time to step back from the daily grind, time away from weekly chores, just time. You know, if our country wasn’t in such a hurry to be the best at whatever it is we are trying to be the best at, perhaps more would get accomplished. Sometimes I think the message that’s put out there is all about “me, me, me” and less about “how can I help another?” or “what can I do to make a difference?” If we just stepped away and realized that our lives served a bigger purpose or better yet, stepped away and realized that if we just saw our daily jobs as serving a bigger purpose and believed in that, that it will all fall into the place the way it’s supposed to as long as we remember what that purpose is, then perhaps we wouldn’t be in such a hurry.

There is one quote that resonnates with me and every time I reflect on it, I always take a moment to step back. Rick Warren in his book, A Purpose Driven Life, says, “It’s not about me.” It’s not. He then goes on to explain what our true purpose is but that’s not my point. The fact is whenever I think of that quote, I realize it’s not about me. When I’m feeling too busy to enjoy what life has to offer…to stop and smell those roses, if you will…I just think of that quote and I step back. I take my time.

Have you taken yours lately?

Make it a GREAT day, Everyone!

Smiles,

Lisa 🙂
Comments
2 Responses to “Taking Time”
  1. forgetfulone says:

    That was a great post. It’s not about me. I’m glad you took time for yourself. I would love to be hanging out in sweatpants with scented candles burning right now. Have a great weekend. It was nice to connect with you.

  2. forgetfulone says:

    That was a great post. It’s not about me. I’m glad you took time for yourself. I would love to be hanging out in sweatpants with scented candles burning right now. Have a great weekend. It was nice to connect with you.

Leave a Reply

  • My Business Card

    Lisa on Cardly
