Autumn is Here!

Finally! I see an end to summer heat. It’s about 59 degrees here in Raleigh this morning, the sun is peaking throught the clouds, and the birds are chirping right outside my window. I love Autumn. The season brings with it many changes – changes in temperature, the colors of the leaves, a switch from baseball to football for my viewing pleasure (GO PATS!). Speaking of football, let me tell you what I did last night.

As most of you know, I work for a local TV station. Well, our station launched a new hyper-local family of websites called MyNC this year. We figured what better way to promote the new site to the community while encouraging them to add their own stories, pictures, and video to their respective local sites by attending a high shool football game. That’s what I did last night. I attended the West Johnston HS vs. Garner HS game at WJHS. I took a bit of video myself while I was there but my primary focus was to hand out “share” cards, tell people about the site, throw some t-shirts out to the crowd, all that jazz. I picked this particular game because the WJHS Band is heading to the Macy’s Thanksgiving Day Parade this year and this was their debut for the hometown crowd. They did such a fabulous job! And the WJHS Wildcats defeated the Garner Trojans to remain undefeated too!!

While it was fun, it also wiped me out! Note to self for next week – don’t work a full day prior to walking around outside for hours on end. By the time I got home, I was literally exhausted. My back hurt, my feet hurt, I was so tired that I could barely keep my eyes open long enough to watch the one-hour show I had DVR’d that afternoon. I hit the hay by 10pm and didn’t get up until 10am. How ’bout that?!

But, I have to admit because I like football…and high school football…this assigment was probably one of the most fun ones I have had yet. I have to do it again next Friday, one night in October, and one night in November. It’s worth it, though, since local sports usually brings a community together so I know I’m hitting quite a few people all in one spot!

So, back to Fall…I think I’ll go and enjoy a cup of Hazlenut coffee on the deck in my bathrobe. Sounds devine right about now.

Smiles,

Lisa πŸ™‚
Leave a Reply

  • My Business Card

    Lisa on Cardly
