A French Cafe in Corolla

Amy put down her tall mocha latte. “It couldn’t be him,” she thought. She hadn’t seen him in over 20 years and yet it was as if she just ran into him yesterday at Market Fresh Grocery while picking up ingredients for the chicken marsala she was going to make for dinner last night. His face had nary the wrinkle. His hair was just beginning to turn a peppery gray. But, she couldn’t mistake the smile as the clerk handed him his change.

Before Amy knew it, she stood up nearly knocking her latte off the table. Though, she didn’t know if she was hoping to run out before being seen or if she was standing to catch him before he left. She’d like to believe the former. Too late. Within moments, Amy was calling his name.
“Derek. Derek Butler, is that really you?” she called out.

Derek turned around. His eyes fixated on the woman that spoke his name. “How can it be?” he said to himself, “I thought she was dead.” But, there Amy was as healthy as can be right there in his favorite local coffee house, A French Cafe in Corolla on the sea side of the sleepy island town it’s named after. Derek slowly made his way to Amy.

“My God, Amy! What are you doing in Corolla?” he inquired.

“I could ask you the same thing,” Amy replied, “I come here all the time. It’s the only place on this little island that can pour me the perfect latte.”

They stood facing each other, neither one knowing what to say next. Amy broke the silence, “Would you like to join me?” she gestured to him to sit down. Taking the seat across from Amy’s, Derek removed his jacket and placed it on the back of the seat.

“So you come here often? Good to know,” he said with a wink that made her chuckle a little.

“And why is that? Good to know, I mean?”

Derek hesitated before telling her that he recently moved to Corolla to work on the construction of a brand new luxury resort on the north side of the island. He wasn’t sure why he hesitated. Could it be simply because he still couldn’t get over the sight of her sitting there across the table from him… or was it that he just didn’t want her to know that they were now neighbors?

That’s my take on today’s Sunday Scribblings prompt – coffee.

Smiles,

Lisa πŸ™‚
Comments
10 Responses to “A French Cafe in Corolla”
  1. Lisa Sullivan says:

    Thanks, Everyone! I kinda like it myself and have put my posting into my “maybe I’ll turn this into a novel” category.

    I appreciate the feedback!

  2. Lisa Sullivan says:

    Thanks, Everyone! I kinda like it myself and have put my posting into my “maybe I’ll turn this into a novel” category.

    I appreciate the feedback!

  3. texasblu says:

    Very intriguing. You should expound. πŸ™‚

  4. texasblu says:

    Very intriguing. You should expound. πŸ™‚

  5. K. Wedemeyer says:

    So much mystery. I will puzzle over the different scenarios for a while. Is he surprised shes alive because he thought he… naw he wouldn’t, would he?

  6. K. Wedemeyer says:

    So much mystery. I will puzzle over the different scenarios for a while. Is he surprised shes alive because he thought he… naw he wouldn’t, would he?

  7. tumblewords says:

    I enjoyed this and hope there’ll be more!

  8. tumblewords says:

    I enjoyed this and hope there’ll be more!

  9. B. Roan says:

    A very enjoyable read! BJ

  10. B. Roan says:

    A very enjoyable read! BJ

Leave a Reply

  • My Business Card

    Lisa on Cardly
