Politics and Me

I despise the political process. Let me just say that right off the bat! I absolutely can’t stand watching politicians with their rehearsed speeches, their memorized responses to questions, what generally seems to be their total lack of realism, at least that’s how I see it. So, I usually don’t pay much attention to the election season. BUT, then came Sarah Palin. I’m now paying attention.

She pretty much came from out of nowhere, didn’t she? That peaked my interest. When it was officially announced that she was McCain’s pick for VP, I think many of us were taken aback by the choice, mostly because of the fact that by all accounts she wasn’t even near the top of his list. Then, I heard that she put the jet of the former Governor (of Alaska) up for sale on Ebay and I was like, WOAH! This chick means business. I had to listen to her speech last week. I just had to.

And I’m glad I did. Yeah, her speech was prepared and she was prepared to deliver it. Sure. BUT, she delivered with such conviction and such realism that it’s no wonder she had the crowd eating out of the palm of her hand.

I, too, was impressed. I can’t say that I’m in her corner…yet. I want to learn more about her, see where she stands on the issues, and I’m real anxious to see her go head to head with Biden in the first VP debate. THAT’s something that is truly a must see!

So far, though, I like her. I like that she’s not a career Politician but rather that she has such conviction for the issues that matter to her that she felt she had to do more than talk the talk – Palin had to do something about them. She’s got gusto and I like that!

Does this mean that I’m going to vote for McCain? Not necessarily. Does this mean I’m going to vote…period? Not necessarily. But, it does mean that now my interest is peaked on so many levels and I’m actually looking forward to seeing how these next two months shake out.

My prediction – the race from here on out and the election itself is going to be very close.

What do you think? I’d be interested to hear your thoughts.

Smiles,

Lisa πŸ™‚

(image courtesy of: http://www.johnmccain.com)

Leave a Reply

  • My Business Card

    Lisa on Cardly
