Finding Solace

Solace. I don’t find it in just one thing but rather in many. However, I do go somewhere…or rather, to someone…first – when I’m in need of comfort, I look to God through prayer and reflection. I find talking to my heavenly Father brings me a sense of peace and looking through scripture only reminds me that there is always a greater plan than my own. Being in the moment with God really brings everything into perspective. His reassurance that all will be OK at some point brings me comfort.

Once I’ve visited with God, of course I seek solace in my husband too, and sometimes we both go to the Lord together, usually in prayer. Then, if I need a shoulder to cry on, I know he will lend me his and he’ll just hold me until I’m ready to let go.

My family is next. Though we live hundreds of miles apart, if I just pick up the phone to call any of them, I know they’ll listen to my cries for comfort. I don’t always need their advice. Sometimes I just need their ears and that’s it. But, I know they are for me no matter what I need at the time.

The only other things I might do to seek solace – go for a long uninterupted walk, take a bubble bath, or yes, I might even grab my favorite comfort foods – macaroni and cheese or something with chocolate (ice cream, a brownie from Chick-Fil-A, and combination of the two…).

It’s important to find solace when it’s needed. It’s important to let your feelings out, to cry, scream, talk, even laugh. I’m not one to bottle anything up. I usually let it out in some kind of way and ultimately, I feel good.

Those are my thoughts on this week’s Sunday Scribblings topic on Solace. What are yours?
Comments
4 Responses to “Finding Solace”
  1. danni says:

    sounds like you really have your priorities straight – your post was a great testament!!!

  2. danni says:

    sounds like you really have your priorities straight – your post was a great testament!!!

  3. forgetfulone says:

    Lisa! I’ve missed your blog! I didn’t know you did Sunday Scribblings. I do SS whenever the topic strikes me. Good to see you around.

  4. forgetfulone says:

    Lisa! I’ve missed your blog! I didn’t know you did Sunday Scribblings. I do SS whenever the topic strikes me. Good to see you around.

Leave a Reply

  • July 2008
    M T W T F S S
    « Jun   Aug »
     123456
    78910111213
    14151617181920
    21222324252627
    28293031  
  • My Business Card

    Lisa on Cardly
