Another Inspiration

and if I didn’t include this in a post, there’d be something definitely wrong with me!

My husband an I celebrated 10 years of wedded bliss yesterday.

It doesn’t seem like 10 years. As cliche as this sounds…it really does seem like just yesterday that we standing atop that hill in southern New Hampshire exchanging our vows on that perfect sunny summer day in 1998. Ten years has gone by fast! Yet, when you calculate the entire time we have been together, it’s been 16 years. Once again, it STILL feels like yesterday!

I am blessed to have one of the best people in the whole wide world love me for me. He puts up with my mood swings, my silliness, my insecurities, my energy (sometimes lack thereof), all of it. My husband loves me for who I am…faults and all. What a blessing!

If I had to turn back time, I wouldn’t. Our road hasn’t been easy. Then again, has anyone’s really? Show me a Ward and June Cleaver and I’ll show you a gold medal (Ok, maybe more like a fake one). The thing is, through better for worse, for richer for poorer, and in sickness and in health, we have been through it all and thanks to our ever-growing faith, we have not only survived but we have THRIVED! God has been so good to us!

So, I was looking up symbols yesterday for the 10th Anniversary and our choices were diamonds, daffodils, or tin. Well, diamonds are kinda out of the question at the moment. Daffodils, though beautiful, are not in season. So, I had to settle for tin. Actually, I had to settle for tin and a yellowish/orangish tropical plant.

The thought process was this – I found a tin yard stake in the shape of a fish that holds a votive candle. Since my husband loves to fish and since we are where we are today because of our faith in Jesus and He lights our path, well, I substituted the daffodils for a plant that would hold the fish. Last night after dinner we lit a candle, placed it in the fish and sat together on our deck just enjoying each other’s company. So, it wasn’t a bouquet of flowers or a strand of diamonds but the sentiment was the same, if not more.

I am blessed. Ten years. I look forward to the next ten, fifteen, twenty…

Smiles,

Lisa 🙂

Comments
4 Responses to “Another Inspiration”
  1. Michelle says:

    Congratulations on 10 years!! I’m glad to see you’ve posted on your blog… I check here from time to time and was waiting to hear what was new with you!
    I’ve started blogging again myself. It’s been a while since ‘A Pup’s Perspective’ but I’m enjoying writing again. In case you want to take a peek:
    http://hickoryhills.blogspot.com (obviously stories about growing up in Hickory Hills in Lunenburg!)
    and
    http://flutterbean.blogspot.com, which I reserve for everything else.
    Take care, and drop me an email from time to time!!
    Cheers!
    Michelle (Abrams) DeAngelis

  2. Michelle says:

    Congratulations on 10 years!! I’m glad to see you’ve posted on your blog… I check here from time to time and was waiting to hear what was new with you!
    I’ve started blogging again myself. It’s been a while since ‘A Pup’s Perspective’ but I’m enjoying writing again. In case you want to take a peek:
    http://hickoryhills.blogspot.com (obviously stories about growing up in Hickory Hills in Lunenburg!)
    and
    http://flutterbean.blogspot.com, which I reserve for everything else.
    Take care, and drop me an email from time to time!!
    Cheers!
    Michelle (Abrams) DeAngelis

  3. WENDEE HOLTCAMP says:

    CONGRATULATIONS Lisa! What a wonderful post for a wonderful marriage. Say hi to MIke for me!

  4. WENDEE HOLTCAMP says:

    CONGRATULATIONS Lisa! What a wonderful post for a wonderful marriage. Say hi to MIke for me!

Leave a Reply

  • July 2008
    M T W T F S S
    « Jun   Aug »
     123456
    78910111213
    14151617181920
    21222324252627
    28293031  
  • My Business Card

    Lisa on Cardly
