An Inspired Surreal Experience

Notice lately that I need inspiration to blog? I mean, the last time I added anything was May 28th. Kinda sad really but at the same time what I used to love has become more of a chore, less of a…fun hobby, so to speak. I still love to write. Don’t get me wrong. I just don’t love to do it as much any more….until this incredibly inspiring experience I had this weekend that I just have to put into words.
Most of my closest family and friends know that for just over a year, I have been working steadfastly as the President of the Official Jason Gerhardt Fan Club.

Jason and I at “An Evening with Jason Gerhardt and Friends” Event

Up until this weekend my “job” consisted mostly of accepting Fan Club membership dues, communicating with the Members, hosting online Chats with Jason and his fans, etc.; pretty much anything that I can do from the web. Well, this weekend, I had the opportunity to produce, host, and co-emcee our event for General Hospital Fan Club Weekend, An Evening with Jason Gerhardt and Friends – a FUNdraiser for World Vision” in Studio City, California. What fun we had!

Jason has always wanted his Fan Club to be different, to stand out from the rest not because of who he is but because of what he wishes to do and that is make a difference for the global community in some kind of way. His event was uniquely different in that not only did it have the “standard fare” of GHFCW (i.e. Q&A’s, special guests, autograph signings, and picture opps) but it also included a full meal, a variety show, a silent auction, and a majority of the proceeds going to a great cause – the children’s charity, World Vision, Jason’s official charity of 2008. Our guests were treated to so much that entire evening that everyone walked away saying they had a really great time and can’t wait to do it again next year! Personally, I’m exhausted and I can’t think that far enough in advance…yet.

I had a fabulous time at Fan Club Weekend; not just because of the celebrities I got to meet (and there were quite a few)
Yennifer Behrens and me poolside
(Yennifer played “Mariana” on GH)

and see (there was a sighting of Gene Simmons in the parking lot of the hotel my last night there) but mostly because of two things – I got to meet several of the fan club members and for the first time, Jason himself. You see, I hadn’t even met Jason in person until this past weekend. My becoming his Fan Club President was purely God’s intervention. A year ago, he needed someone that could take care of his fans the way he wanted that person to. A year ago, we set the plan in motion. A year ago, it was all about emails, chats, and phone calls. Now, this past weekend, we came full circle. I got to spend time with him, his family, and his personal manager. And for me, that meant so much. It tied all of this together and made me feel even more blessed to be on his team!

New friends – Carol and Kristie

This whole weekend was incredibly surreal to me. On the one hand, I was taking everything in as a fan. On the other, I was in the midst of all the action as a member of a collaborative team ensuring the fans had the best experience they could have. I’m amazed at how well everything went but not that amazed because I know God had his hand in all of it.

Another new friend – Wendy

Two more new friends – Shelley and Michy

The fan club members that I had a chance to meet and spend time with are some of the best people I have ever met. Truly. These ladies are as down-to-earth and genuine as they come. I look forward to working with them through the Club but I also look forward to getting to know them better as the year progresses. I’m very thankful to have met these ladies.

Again, surreal but so inspiring. What a fantastic weekend…in more ways than one!

Comments
6 Responses to “An Inspired Surreal Experience”
  1. Maryann says:

    sounds like a fun weekend…got any video to share?

  2. Maryann says:

    sounds like a fun weekend…got any video to share?

  3. Lisa Sullivan says:

    I’ve actually been thinking about that, Wendee. I’m probably combining all three of my personal blogs at some point. I just need to find the time to do that. Where does the time go?!

  4. Lisa Sullivan says:

    I’ve actually been thinking about that, Wendee. I’m probably combining all three of my personal blogs at some point. I just need to find the time to do that. Where does the time go?!

  5. WENDEE HOLTCAMP says:

    What a fun time that looks like!! I think I’ve found it best to keep one blog as when I had two I just couldn’t keep up. Even if one was a “theme”. I enjoy blogging but ya it definitely flows a lot more when i’m inspired, and doesn’t in other times. Maybe if you folded the I Have AN Opinion one into this one, it would give you more to blog about?

  6. WENDEE HOLTCAMP says:

    What a fun time that looks like!! I think I’ve found it best to keep one blog as when I had two I just couldn’t keep up. Even if one was a “theme”. I enjoy blogging but ya it definitely flows a lot more when i’m inspired, and doesn’t in other times. Maybe if you folded the I Have AN Opinion one into this one, it would give you more to blog about?

Leave a Reply

  • July 2008
    M T W T F S S
    « Jun   Aug »
     123456
    78910111213
    14151617181920
    21222324252627
    28293031  
  • My Business Card

    Lisa on Cardly
