Feeling Inspired

It’s my first weekend off in what feels like MONTHS (but is probably more like weeks) and I have enjoyed it. I’ve slept in, wrote an article for a magazine, took the dog to the park, took a nap, sat by the pool, had a couple of beers with some friends. Basically, I finally had time to do what I wanted to do and not what I had to do. And it has been WONDERFUL!

So, I guess I have felt inspired to write a post again. I have absolutely no idea if anyone will read this and I particularly don’t care. I just wanted to put my thoughts into words.
This past week I compiled entries for a scrapbook for a Birthday present for a very special person. Most of my family and friends know that I am the Fan Club President for Hollywood actor, Jason Gerhardt. His Birthday was this past Monday. I didn’t have the time to put his present together until a day after but once I did and shipped it off, I couldn’t help but smile at the inspiring words and submissions his fans sent in. It gave me a new hope that reminded me there is a reason I do what I do and for everything that I do, it’s really for God’s purpose for me. It reminded me that not everything is permanent, that whatever gifts and talents He has given me, they will be used when he says the time is right.

I’m not making any sense to you but it makes clear sense to me, especially this weekend. Now that I have had time to reflect and enjoy life again, though only for a weekend, I feel renewed and refreshed. I feel inspired!
I know that God directs my path. I trust in wherever that direction will take me next. I know that as long as I rely on him and my faith is super strong, anything is possible. I know that I have a purpose in this life and I know that He will reveal it to me as the days go by.
A particular memory came back to me this weekend. Life is too short to be working too hard, isn’t it? I remember back in high school when I got my first job at 16, I was so excited. I would finally have the money to buy the clothes I wanted; not the ones my mom would pick out for me, and that’s no offense to her taste either. I was just a typical teenager. But, I also remember that by mid senior year when I was missing out on so much because I was working too much, I went to my parents and told them I was quitting my job and I needed their support, not to buy clothes or pay for the occasional movie, but rather I needed them to understand why I was quitting and support that decision. They did and I’m glad I quit! I had a fantastic and memorable second half of senior year and I wouldn’t trade that for the world. Little did I know that that decision would eventually teach me a lesson later on in life.

Let me just put in a disclaimer here, I’m not advocating quitting your job. I’m just making a point – don’t work so hard. Whether it be your 9-5 job, running the household, volunteering on all kinds of committees, or a combination of all of the above, every once in a while just stop and smell those roses out there. Life is too short not to.

Let me go back to what I was saying a paragraph or two ago. God has the purpose for me and I have come to the conclusion that I can’t stress out over the little things any more. I know that all will reveal and work itself out. I’m pretty confident in that.

And it already has…a little bit anyway. I have cut back the amount of hours I work each week. Though I know I won’t get everything done, that’s ok. Does “everything” ever really get done? No. However, I decided that my quality of life has to improve and it has. My priorities have shifted over the last few months to positions I thought they would never shift to. I recognized that a couple of weeks ago and I have begun making changes because of it. Boy does that feel good! And I know it will only improve from here on out.

God must come first. My husband and family, second. My friends, third, and everything else after the fact because you see, with God all things are possible, aren’t they? If I continue to repeat that to myself and never forget that I believe that, then all will work itself out.

I feel change is coming. I feel inspired to know that it will once again be for the good. I know it will because I have my God, my husband, my family, and my friends to back me up. That’s inspiring!

I wish I could share the present I sent along but it was in fact a present. Just know that it was inspirational. I’m glad I’m a part of something that inspires people. What’s exciting is I think that’s perhaps one of my purposes in this life – to be an inspiration to someone somewhere. Gosh I hope that I can live up to that.

Life is too short. Be an inspiration. Remember, what we do is directed by what God wants for us. Ask yourself, does God want what you have for you or is there a greater purpose? All the riches in the world can’t match the riches he provides. Be an inspiration and inspire people to remember that because at the end of the day, it’s not what you have that makes the difference, it’s what you do with it.

God said, “Love one another as I have loved you,” and he went on to say, “Go and make disciples of all nations baptizing them in the name of the Father, Son, and Holy Spirit.” Those are our greatest commandments. Those are what’s important.

I could go on and on and I’m not sure I’m making the least bit of sense. Perhaps I’m trying to get too many messages out there at once. Who knows? That’s what I get for not blogging consistently. Still, if anyone is reading this, I hope I inspired someone out there with a particular word or a particular phrase.

With God all things are possible. May you be inspired.

Until next time (whenever that may be),

Lisa
Leave a Reply

  • April 2008
    M T W T F S S
    « Mar   May »
     123456
    78910111213
    14151617181920
    21222324252627
    282930  
  • My Business Card

    Lisa on Cardly
