Handling Breaking News

First off, let me just say that I’m not a reporter and after tonight, I definitely gotta say that I don’t aspire to be one, especially the breaking news kind.

It started out as a normal Friday evening. My husband and I contemplated dinner –

“What do you want?”
“I don’t know. What do YOU want?”

and it went on and on for about 5 minutes. We then made the decision to hit up the local Mexican restaurant but we had to go to PetSmart first. The cats were out of food. Upon leaving PetSmart, I noticed a chopper hovering over the closest major intersection to where I live. I had a feeling something was wrong but the traffic was so bad getting there that I just left it alone. Besides, I’m not a reporter. I don’t need to be there anyway.

So, we went on to dinner, returning an hour later to the same scene. Only this time the cops were parked right in the middle of one street and there was that infamous yellow tape. Traffic was being diverted through the shopping center to get back onto the major road. This time, my husband and I traveled as close as we could get to the scene, parked the car, and proceeded to go see what the fuss was about. It wasn’t pretty. In fact, it was downright sad.

Finding our way on foot a little bit closer, we saw numerous police and rescue vehicles, not to mention a competitor’s stations truck & chopper. I didn’t see anyone from my station so I started rolling tape.

I can’t even begin to describe what I filmed. At first it was just a crash. Then, it became a family…and another family…and another. It was then that my heart began pumping a mile a minute. I knew it was adrenaline but it was more the kind that comes from wondering if I was making my station proud. If I was doing the right thing. If I should have even been doing this at all.

All I can say is that I have a new found respect for breaking news reporters. As of this moment, I never want to be in this kind of position again. Finding out that there was a double fatality at the accident scene and I was shooting whatever I could on the one hand didn’t sit well with me. On the other, I was hoping that I was getting it right for the station.

WOW! What a circumstance! What a night!!

I need to go hug my husband and tell him how much I appreciate and love him. Tonight a family lost two of their own. May God keep them in his tender care.

Comments
4 Responses to “Handling Breaking News”
  1. realworldmartha says:

    That would be so hard. I think you can tell if some of them have become harden to all that as well.
    Nice to have found your blog.
    Blessings,
    Debbie aka The Real World Martha(S)

  2. realworldmartha says:

    That would be so hard. I think you can tell if some of them have become harden to all that as well.
    Nice to have found your blog.
    Blessings,
    Debbie aka The Real World Martha(S)

  3. forgetfulone says:

    That’s probably not the kind of reporting I’d want to do, either. Too sad. Did you have to narrate? Did the station use any of your film? It’s probably good for your career that you stopped and rolled tape, but I understand how you felt.

  4. forgetfulone says:

    That’s probably not the kind of reporting I’d want to do, either. Too sad. Did you have to narrate? Did the station use any of your film? It’s probably good for your career that you stopped and rolled tape, but I understand how you felt.

Leave a Reply

  • January 2008
    M T W T F S S
    « Dec   Mar »
     123456
    78910111213
    14151617181920
    21222324252627
    28293031  
  • My Business Card

    Lisa on Cardly
