Me? A Competitor?


I don’t think of myself as a competitor. Sure, I played sports in school but only cuz I wanted to keep in shape! And sure, when I did and my team won, it felt good. I even enjoy the occasional family game night or the family football “pool” during the holidays or even watching my favorite teams but do I get an adrenaline rush during any of that? No. I don’t even compete at work. There are some people who absolutely live for that “high”, especially sales people, at least that’s the stigma I get about them. They live for the next close and can’t wait to celebrate it.

Me? I’m not a competitor. All I’ve ever wanted is to help people. As a teacher, well, that almost explains itself. But, what I will say the biggest “rush” I ever got out of that was when my students grasped a concept I was teaching. The “Oh! NOW I get it!!” never got old. I look at my current job in media an opportunity to help so many. I help individuals, organizations, and businesses, and I even help my station. That feels pretty good!

I have a good heart; not a competitive one. That’s not to say that all competitive people don’t have heart. Don’t miss understand me there. It’s just that I live for helping people and that’s all. There’s nothing like the rush you get when you see someone smile because of something you did to help them. That’s the best rush of all!

Smiles,

Lisa ๐Ÿ™‚

Brought to you by this week’s Sunday Scribblings prompt – Competition.

Comments
6 Responses to “Me? A Competitor?”
  1. forgetfulone says:

    Just stopped by the say Merry Christmas!

  2. forgetfulone says:

    Just stopped by the say Merry Christmas!

  3. forgetfulone says:

    You DO have a good heart! Miss you down here in TX!

  4. forgetfulone says:

    You DO have a good heart! Miss you down here in TX!

  5. gautami tripathy says:

    I like the summarising paragraph. You do seem to have a good heart..:D

    Go Compete

  6. gautami tripathy says:

    I like the summarising paragraph. You do seem to have a good heart..:D

    Go Compete

Leave a Reply

  • December 2007
    M T W T F S S
    « Nov   Jan »
     12
    3456789
    10111213141516
    17181920212223
    24252627282930
    31  
  • My Business Card

    Lisa on Cardly
