Girl’s Night Out…At the Hospital?


“No, no, no….I’m not the one that needs medical attention. She is,” I voiced angrily as I pointed to my best friend, Laura, as she sat doubled over in pain and dripping with blood on her right knee.

The nurse hurried over to Laura as I followed close behind. I can’t believe this is happening. What started out as a fun-filled night with the girls has turned into a nightmare. Where did that other vehicle come from anyway? How do I explain to Henry that this was truly not my fault? He’ll never believe me. He never does.

One Day Earlier

“Laura, come on. It’ll be fun. Besides, when was the last time you and I went out…just us…the girls?”

Laura hesitated, “Oh I don’t know. John will be home late from work and I have to get the kids to bed. It’ll be too late to go out. Maybe some other time.”

“Now Laura, you know as well as I do that you work so hard as the Executive Director of that gorgeous art museum of yours, taking care of three children in the evening, and being super Mom, it’s time that John take over the bedtime duties for once. I know he works hard too but he at least goes out with the guys every now and then. You never go with us girls even though we try real hard to get you to come with us. It’s YOUR turn!

“You know, you’re right. I suppose I could get John to put the kids to bed, put the light load into the dryer, and clean up the dishes. Yeah…let’s go! What do you have in mind?”

Smiling through the phone I replied, “I’m thinking an early dinner at Chez Louis, catch some jazz at Uptown, and finish it off with a nightcap at the Cellar. You remember the last time we were at the Cellar, don’t you?”

“Oh do I! Geeze…let’s not get into that kind of trouble again, ok? Promise me that!” laughing Laura responded.

Present Day

It was only 32 hours ago and little did we know that history would repeat itself. We were having such a good time, just us girls and yet, we find ourselves back in the same predicament. Only this time, there’s no hiding the truth.

“Doctor,” the nurse yelled from across the room, “this lady is banged up pretty bad. She needs an x-ray and sutures, STAT.” Then she whispers to the doctor as he arrives at her side, “and I think the bleeding isn’t just coming from her knee either.”

“You think it’s internal?” asked Dr. Davis.

The nurse nodded, “Yes, and I’m not entirely sure it’s a fault of the accident either,” she continued as she glanced in my direction.

Here we go again.

This topic brought to you by this week’s Sunday Scribblings prompt – hospital.

Smiles,
Lisa πŸ™‚

(Image courtesy of: http://www.amsreferencelab.com/services/images/pix_hospitals.jpg)

Comments
8 Responses to “Girl’s Night Out…At the Hospital?”
  1. forgetfulone says:

    Yes, I want more! Tell us the rest of the story. You’re definitely a good author. Hope all is well with you.

  2. forgetfulone says:

    Yes, I want more! Tell us the rest of the story. You’re definitely a good author. Hope all is well with you.

  3. Joseph C. Harris says:

    This leaves you wanting more. Great post.

  4. Lisa Sullivan says:

    No worries, Tumble. It’s totally fiction. Thanks for the kind words!

  5. Joseph C. Harris says:

    This leaves you wanting more. Great post.

  6. Lisa Sullivan says:

    No worries, Tumble. It’s totally fiction. Thanks for the kind words!

  7. tumblewords says:

    I hope this is fiction! It’s written very well and the dialog is perfect!

  8. tumblewords says:

    I hope this is fiction! It’s written very well and the dialog is perfect!

Leave a Reply

  • My Business Card

    Lisa on Cardly
