Being Queen

“My first act as Queen of the World will be….”

I was just pronounced Queen of the World. Not “of England” or “of some tiny country in Europe” but Queen of the WORLD. How on Earth did I get THAT job? What did I do that was so worthy of such an honor? Is it an honor really….or is it a curse?

I have a hard enough time being Queen of the Roost. Well, I’m not really Queen. I’m just the person who knows when more toilet paper is needed, when we’re out of toothpaste, who cleans the dishes out of the kitchen sink, places them in the dishwasher, and then puts them away when they’re cleaned. I am the person who remembers to feed the cats at the designated hours or doesn’t forget to turn the TV on to the digital classical music channel whenever we leave the house so that the dog has something more than the sound of silence to listen to (and the cats for that matter). I’m the person who is consistently tidying up our home in case unexpected company should come over and I know when the Birthday, Anniversary, and holiday cards should be mailed. I write the list for the grocery shopping because who better than me knows what’s needed, what we’re out of, and which brands to buy? I am Queen of the Roost and I’m exhausted just writing this!

Back to the prompt, to be honest, I would not want to be Queen of the World. That kind of pressure is too overwhelming for me. As a matter of fact, I think I feel a zit forming on my right cheek as I type!

But, if I were Queen of the World, I guess I would say my very first act would be to sit in my favorite chair in my spacious sitting room and call my right-hand person. I would then ask him or her, “Ok, what’s first?!”

Smiles,
Lisa

See Sunday Scribblings for more regal ramblings about being Queen (or King).

(Image courtesy of: http://worldroots.com/gitte/gifs/janegrey.jpg)

Comments
20 Responses to “Being Queen”
  1. mbalbo says:

    The question is…would you quit your job? Love the post!

  2. mbalbo says:

    The question is…would you quit your job? Love the post!

  3. gautami tripathy says:

    You ARE the queen of your world!

  4. gautami tripathy says:

    You ARE the queen of your world!

  5. giggles says:

    I hear ya Queen Doestoomuch! Where the heck is the King when you need him? Great post…left me smiling!

    Peace Giggles

  6. giggles says:

    I hear ya Queen Doestoomuch! Where the heck is the King when you need him? Great post…left me smiling!

    Peace Giggles

  7. forgetfulone says:

    Wow! I’m tired reading your queen of the roost list, too. That’s my life! I couldn’t handle being queen of anything more important. Take care!

  8. forgetfulone says:

    Wow! I’m tired reading your queen of the roost list, too. That’s my life! I couldn’t handle being queen of anything more important. Take care!

  9. Patois says:

    Thank goodness for right-hand persons.

  10. Patois says:

    Thank goodness for right-hand persons.

  11. Tori says:

    I have a feeling that a lot of royalty and people in power rely on their right hand people for the answer to this question.

  12. Tori says:

    I have a feeling that a lot of royalty and people in power rely on their right hand people for the answer to this question.

  13. Robin says:

    Real skill lies in knowing when to delegate! Great take on the prompt.

  14. Robin says:

    Real skill lies in knowing when to delegate! Great take on the prompt.

  15. Jessica says:

    Oh…that pressure, I’m so glad you feel it too! But to ahve a right-hand person, now that would be cool!
    Form a polite queue here please.

  16. Jessica says:

    Oh…that pressure, I’m so glad you feel it too! But to ahve a right-hand person, now that would be cool!
    Form a polite queue here please.

  17. tumblewords says:

    Good post! It’s quite a job to keep up with households, let alone worlds. I guess if we all took good care of our households, we might not need so much world care. Grin.

  18. tumblewords says:

    Good post! It’s quite a job to keep up with households, let alone worlds. I guess if we all took good care of our households, we might not need so much world care. Grin.

  19. Joseph C. Harris says:

    Great post. It is very hard deciding what to do when you are king or queen. My response is up on my site if you want to check it out.

  20. Joseph C. Harris says:

    Great post. It is very hard deciding what to do when you are king or queen. My response is up on my site if you want to check it out.

Leave a Reply

  • My Business Card

    Lisa on Cardly
