The Good Stuff

cuz it’s the first long kiss on a second date
moma’s all worried when you get home late
dropping the ring in the spagetti plate
cuz your hands are shaking so much
and it’s the way that she looks with her rice in her hair
eating burnt suppers the whole first year
and asking for seconds, to keep her from tearing up
yeah man that’s the good stuff”
The Good Stuff
by: Kenny Chesney
Read the lyrics carefully. Doesn’t that sound “good”? It’s a song about a man who appreciates every little blessing that comes his way. It’s a song that counts one’s blessings when times are tough. It’s a song that celebrates life. That’s what I do today.
I love this song. It’s one of my favorite Kenny Chesney songs. It’s not a rock out kinda lyric nor could it be referenced as a typical love song. Rather, it’s a song that’s simple, that reminds me of what the “good stuff” really is.
I have been blessed my whole life but after the year I had professionally, the blessings pour down. Ever hear that expression, “When it rains, it pours”? Well, it’s pouring in my life right now…and I am so excited!
In my last posting I wrote about feeling like Pretty Woman. It wasn’t because I had to feel like Pretty Woman to feel good about myself. Rather, it was a turning point in my life. God has a direction for me, a plan, the pieces to my life puzzle. That day was just another day that filled one of those pieces. I love feeling good, feeling happy. That day I was not because of the bargains I found, the manicure I had, or the heads that turned in my direction. I was happy because all that led to something bigger and better and I knew it. I knew it would!
Someone asked me if I got that job. I did! Not only that but my own business seems to be doing fairly well too. I’m a busy woman but one that appreciates the good stuff and that’s what I celebrate today. God is good. My life is good. My blessings are abundant…and I couldn’t be happier.
I hope you find your good stuff today. 🙂
Smiles,
Lisa
(Lyrics to “The Good Stuff” courtesy of: http://www.thelyricarchive.com/lyrics/thegoodstuff.shtml)
Author’s note: Html is not cooperating with me and as such, my paragraphs have not separated themselves where originally indicated. I apologize if it’s hard to read. Hopefully, the point is made. 🙂
Comments
4 Responses to “The Good Stuff”
  1. Kelly says:

    i’m finding my good stuff. and you my friend, are a part of it. i know we’re miles apart, and we haven’t spoken in weeks, but you are in my thoughts and prayers. and i know that once we do finally connect, we’ll pick up right where we left off! i love you girl. i hope you know that!

  2. Kelly says:

    i’m finding my good stuff. and you my friend, are a part of it. i know we’re miles apart, and we haven’t spoken in weeks, but you are in my thoughts and prayers. and i know that once we do finally connect, we’ll pick up right where we left off! i love you girl. i hope you know that!

  3. forgetfulone says:

    I am so happy for you! You deserve the outpouring of blessings in your life. And I love that KC song, too.
    D.

  4. forgetfulone says:

    I am so happy for you! You deserve the outpouring of blessings in your life. And I love that KC song, too.
    D.

Leave a Reply

  • July 2007
    M T W T F S S
    « Jun   Aug »
     1
    2345678
    9101112131415
    16171819202122
    23242526272829
    3031  
  • My Business Card

    Lisa on Cardly
