Shhhh….I Have a Secret….

Remember those days? Think back to 1980. I was 10 years old. It was summer and I spent nearly every single day playing in my neighborhood with my friends or lakeside by the summer camp we used to visit, especially on those hotter than hot days in New England when the heat waves lasted for what seemed like forever.

In my neighborhood we lived on a dead-end street filled with families and their children. At any one time there might be 11 of us out playing kickball, hide & seek, riding our bikes, or our favorite – a game we used to call, Chase (I’ll save the explanation for that for another post.). At the lake there might be that many kids or even more. It depended on the number of families staying that week. But, no matter where we were, as kids we used to tell each other secrets all the time.

I know who Dan* likes.”

“I know who likes Dan.”

“I know who Stephanie* wants to go to the movies with.”

“I have a secret and I’m not telling anyone!”

I’m just laughing as I’m writing all this. Those were the days. The joys of childhood when the only care in the world is who you’d “play with” that day, where you’d be going, and most imporantly, that nobody told your secret.

Thanks for the memories!

Smiles,
Lisa πŸ™‚

Today’s topic brought to you by Sunday Scribblings (http://sundayscribblings.blogspot.com). *names substituted to protect privacy
Comments
2 Responses to “Shhhh….I Have a Secret….”
  1. DJPare says:

    I know that story well!!
    Grew up in MA – born in 1969 – lived on a dead-end street…

  2. DJPare says:

    I know that story well!!
    Grew up in MA – born in 1969 – lived on a dead-end street…

Leave a Reply

